Key Points
- The Orlando metro area pays CNAs a median annual wage of $37,690.
- Florida expects a shortfall of more than 44,000 nursing assistants by 2037.
- Nine in-person CNA programs near The Villages require tuition and fees.
Compare accredited CNA programs near The Villages by cost, schedule, and job placement.

Cost and speed pull in opposite directions for most CNA candidates near The Villages: employer-sponsored tracks cost nothing but tie you to a specific facility, while private certificate programs run four to eight weeks and let you choose your employer, for a price. With one of the largest concentrations of retirees in the country, The Villages and the surrounding Sumter, Marion, and Lake county corridor generate steady, year-round openings in long-term care and home health, openings that outpace the supply of newly certified aides.
Training options split three ways: free CNA Classes tied to a specific nursing home or assisted living employer, short-term certificate courses at private career schools, and hybrid formats that pair online coursework with in-person clinical hours, since Florida law requires hands-on skills testing no matter how classroom instruction is delivered.
Where do CNAs actually find work in The Villages, and which employers are actively hiring right now? The short answer: the area's large retirement community and proximity to the Orlando metro create steady demand across long-term care, assisted living, home health, rehabilitation, and skilled nursing.
Current job boards list roughly 400 CNA openings in The Villages alone, with hiring concentrated in senior care settings. Common employers include The Villages Health and Rehabilitation Center, Freedom Pointe at the Villages, Assisting Hands of The Villages, Senior Helpers, Visiting Nurse Association of Florida3, and FirstLight Home Care2. In nearby Lady Lake and the wider Orlando metro, home to CNA classes Orlando FL, Cornerstone Health Services and larger hospital systems such as UF Health Central Florida, AdventHealth, and Orlando Health also hire CNAs across hospital, surgery, rehab, and home health roles. Angels Home Care of Florida hires CNAs and HHAs across Lake, Marion, Sumter, and Citrus counties at $17 per hour.1 That mix mirrors the main hiring sectors: skilled nursing, assisted living, home health, rehab, and hospital-based care.
ZipRecruiter data for The Villages puts the average CNA wage at $17.59 per hour, with most postings landing between $14.33 and $19.81; broader CNA wages by state comparisons can help put that local range in context. Individual listings cluster in the high teens: The Villages Health and Rehabilitation Center advertises $17 to $18 per hour, Freedom Pointe at the Villages starts at $17, Senior Home Companions lists $18, and Assisting Hands of The Villages shows $15 to $20. Cornerstone Health Services in Lady Lake posts a wider $16.96 to $25.24 range, so experienced CNAs may find higher-paying options.1
The Villages Health and Rehabilitation Center advertises tuition reimbursement along with a referral program and 401(k). Senior Helpers offers referral bonuses, weekend and holiday extra pay, and flexible shifts. Sign-on bonuses are not widespread in current listings; the stronger trend is reimbursement and shift-based incentives. Because older adults in The Villages need ongoing personal care, trained CNAs have a built-in local job market, and a clear path through the guide to landing your first CNA job, that extends well beyond hospitals into daily home and facility-based care.
No CNA classes in Florida are entirely online. State rules require hands-on skills practice and supervised clinical hours at an approved site, typically a nursing home, hospital, assisted living facility, or skilled nursing facility. What hybrid CNA programs offer instead is flexibility on the theory side: you work through lecture material on your own schedule, then show up in person for lab practice and clinical rotations. A standard Florida CNA course totals around 120 hours split roughly evenly between theory, lab, and clinical work, though some programs run longer.
Shorter hybrids move faster but demand more hours per week; longer formats like Ultimate Medical Academy spread the workload out. Program cost tends to track total hours and included materials, so a 285-hour track often costs more than a 120-hour one. Before enrolling, confirm the school's online component carries Florida Board of Nursing approval and that clinical placements are actually arranged near The Villages, not just listed as a possibility.
Be cautious with online-only prep courses. Options built purely around exam review, rather than full state-approved training with clinicals, will not satisfy Florida's CNA certification requirements on their own.
Nine campus-based CNA programs sit within a reasonable drive of The Villages, stretching from Sumterville out to Ocala, Leesburg, Tavares, and beyond. None of the providers below currently advertise a free or employer-sponsored track, so budget for tuition and supply costs unless a facility you're applying to work for tells you otherwise.
Students willing to drive further can check Ablehearts Academy in Lakeland (855 Carpenters Way, 863-213-3335), which runs a dedicated CNA track, or compare other CNA Classes in Lakeland, FL. Program length, exact weekly schedules, and any weekend-only formats vary by school and change from term to term, so confirm current start dates directly with each provider before enrolling.
The latest federal wage data, published in May 2023, shows CNAs in the Orlando-Kissimmee-Sanford metro area earn a median annual wage of $37,270. That is slightly below the Florida statewide median of $38,210 and close to the U.S. median of $38,130. The Villages' large retiree population supports steady demand for nursing assistants across the broader Orlando region.
| Region | Median Annual Wage | Employment |
|---|---|---|
| Orlando-Kissimmee-Sanford, FL metro area | $37,270 | 11,030 |
| Florida statewide | $38,210 | 89,600 |
| United States | $38,130 | 1,310,090 |
In the Orlando-Kissimmee-Sanford metro area, nursing assistants earn a median annual wage of $37,690.
Becoming a CNA in Florida follows a clear, regulated sequence. The standard route begins with a state-approved training program and ends with your name on the Florida Nurse Aide Registry, the credential that lets you work in licensed healthcare settings.

Florida's path to becoming a Certified Nursing Assistant is set by the Florida Board of Nursing, and every step, from training hours to renewal, is spelled out in state rules. The Villages students should confirm these requirements before enrolling.
Florida requires completion of a Board-approved CNA training program totaling 120 hours, a CNA program length that breaks down into roughly 80 hours of classroom and lab instruction plus 40 hours of supervised clinical work, with at least 20 of those clinical hours performed in a licensed nursing home or long-term care setting. Before you touch a patient, you must complete a minimum of 16 hours of foundational instruction covering federally required topics such as infection control, residents' rights, safety and emergency procedures, communication, and CPR.
Since a 2024 update to state law (HB 975), applicants must complete a Level II electronic fingerprint background screening. This is a state and federal check, and disqualifying offenses listed in Florida Statute Chapter 435 can block eligibility. Processing times and vendor fees vary, so schedule fingerprinting early in your training so results are back by exam time.
Certification is granted after you pass the Prometric Nurse Aide Competency Exam, the CNA state exam with two parts: a 60-question written knowledge test and a clinical skills demonstration of 5 randomly assigned skills. Secondary sources report the total exam fee around $155 as of 2026, with retakes running about $35 for the written portion or $120 for the clinical portion; review the CNA retake policy after failing skills before you register, and confirm current pricing directly with Prometric. A 2024 provision exempts applicants from the clinical skills portion (not the written) if they apply within six months of finishing a Board-approved program.
Florida CNAs renew their credential every two years. You must complete 24 hours of in-service continuing education each biennium, and 2 of those hours must specifically cover medical error prevention and safety. Many employers in The Villages and Greater Orlando provide these hours on the job, but the responsibility to track and report them stays with you. Applicants must be at least 18 years old to test.
These pass rates are drawn from Florida Board of Nursing reports on first-time CNA exam takers. Job placement rates were not available for the same providers in the reviewed files. The reporting year appears with each pass rate because some providers report data from different periods, and a 0% rate from 2019 should not be read as current performance.
| Program | Exam Pass Rate | Job Placement Rate |
|---|---|---|
| John Knox Village of Central FL, CNA Program (CNAP) | 50.0% (2024 annual report) | Not reported |
| St. Johns River State College CNA Training Program | 93.33% (2024 annual report) | Not reported |
| North East Florida State Hospital CNA Training | 75.0% (2025 Q1) | Not reported |
| Florida Health Care Academy CNA Training Program | 0.0% (2019 annual report) | Not reported |
| Riveroak Technical College CNA Program | 100.0% (2024 Q1) | Not reported |
Below are the top CNA programs serving The Villages students, ranked by IPEDS completion data, accreditation status, and program fit. These Florida-based options range from accelerated private career colleges to public technical and state colleges, with on-campus and hybrid formats. All prepare students for the Florida CNA exam and entry-level patient care roles.
Miami, FL · $35,000 – $40,000/yr (est.)
Best for: Accelerated learners wanting bilingual classroom training
FVI School of Nursing and Technology in Miami and Miramar offers a fast, hands-on Nursing Assistant / Home Health Aide program that students from The Villages can complete in about nine weeks. Day and evening sessions, English/Spanish bilingual instruction, and a 40-hour clinical externship make it a structured choice for career changers who can relocate or temporarily study in South Florida. The program includes CPR/BLS certification and Florida CNA exam preparation.
Fort Myers, FL
Best for: Budget-conscious Florida residents needing campus lab access
Fort Myers Technical College is a public technical college with a Florida Board of Nursing-approved Nursing Assistant program that prepares students for state certification. The 165-hour program combines classroom instruction and clinical rotations over about six weeks, with tuition around $1,290 plus fees. Villages students willing to complete the on-campus portion gain a low-cost, state-approved pathway to CNA employment.
Miami, FL · ~$32,000/yr (est.)
Best for: Exam-ready candidates seeking Saturday-only preparation
South Florida Institute of Technology in Miami offers a compact Nursing Aide Exam Preparation course for students who already have nursing coursework. The 24-hour course runs over six Saturday mornings and costs $250, with focus on 22 practical skills and Florida certification readiness. For Villages students needing focused exam preparation rather than full initial training, it is a budget-friendly supplement.
Avon Park, FL · $4,000/yr (est. net price)
South Florida State College in Avon Park offers an eight-week hybrid Nursing Assistant program with evening and Sunday classes that can work for students balancing other responsibilities. The program totals 165 hours and includes scholarships and CareerSource Heartland funding options for eligible Florida residents. Villages students gain a flexible schedule, though the clinical and lab components are based at the college's campus.
Fort Pierce, FL · ~$4,000/yr (est.)
Indian River State College offers a 165-hour Nursing Assistant program at multiple east coast campuses with daytime and evening schedules. The curriculum covers patient safety, vital signs, personal care, and daily living activities, preparing students for Florida's CNA exams. For Villages students, the multiple campus locations provide some scheduling flexibility but still require out-of-area attendance.
Gainesville, FL · ~$11,000/yr (est.)
Santa Fe College in Gainesville is one of the closest public options to The Villages among ranked programs, with a 165-contact-hour Nursing Assistant Certificate. The in-person course includes clinical rotations and is Florida Board of Nursing approved; no high school diploma is required. Small cohorts of up to 10 students and funding options such as the Florida Open Door Grant make it a practical, high-touch choice.
Panama City, FL · ~$5,000/yr (est.)
Gulf Coast State College offers a hybrid Certified Nursing Assistant certificate at the Gulf Franklin Campus in Port St. Joe, completing in about eight weeks with two weekly class sessions. The 165-clock-hour program prepares students for the state CNA exam. Villages students would need to arrange travel or temporary accommodation, but the hybrid format reduces required campus time.
Palatka, FL · ~$6,000/yr (est.)
Saint Johns River State College provides a four-week Nursing Assistant program at campuses in Palatka and Orange Park, with 120 total training hours. The curriculum emphasizes long-term care, gerontology, medical terminology, and CPR certification, aligning well with senior-care settings like those around The Villages. This is one of the faster full initial training options for students who can attend on campus.
Melbourne, FL · $5,000 – $10,000/yr (est.)
Eastern Florida State College's one-semester Patient Care Assistant certificate in Melbourne prepares students for CNA, patient care assistant, and home health aide roles simultaneously. The 290-clock-hour program includes clinical experiences at hospitals, rehabilitation centers, and nursing homes, and Florida residents pay about $1,116. No entrance exam is required, making it an accessible, comprehensive option for Villages students planning an out-of-area semester.
Daytona Beach, FL · $7,000/yr (est. net price)
Daytona State College offers an eight-week Certified Nursing Assistant (Long Term Care) program at the Daytona Beach campus with evening classes. The program includes hands-on clinical experience at long-term care facilities and covers basic nursing care, medical terminology, and patient safety. Villages students can complete admission online or at any Daytona State campus, though the CNA coursework itself requires in-person attendance.
According to the Florida Center for Nursing, the state is projected to face a shortfall of more than 44,000 full-time nursing assistants by 2037, a dramatic reversal from 2022, when Florida had a surplus of roughly 17,000 CNAs above demand.
Choosing a CNA program often comes down to weighing sticker price against what is actually included, since two schools quoting similar tuition can differ widely once books, supplies, background checks, and exam fees are added in. The only reliable way to compare is to ask each admissions office for an itemized written breakdown, since costs shift by term, class size, and whether a program folds fees into one price or bills them separately.
Do not rely on outdated listings when budgeting. Check each school's own program page for current tuition, confirm exam and credentialing fees directly with the Florida Board of Nursing, and use BLS.gov wage data to weigh training costs against realistic starting pay. Groups like NAHCA and the Florida Health Care Association sometimes maintain CNA scholarships worth checking as well.
Local employers and staffing agencies, including area hospitals, health systems, and nursing homes near The Villages, sometimes offer hospital sponsored CNA training if you commit to work for them after certification. Before accepting any offer, ask directly whether the program is truly free, whether tuition converts to a loan if you leave early, what the required employment term looks like, and whether training happens on a part-time or flexible schedule alongside a paid role.
Most CNA programs qualify for at least some form of assistance beyond employer sponsorship. Steps worth taking include: