Compare CNA Classes and Schools in Saginaw, Michigan

Compare costs, class schedules, and clinical requirements across Saginaw CNA schools.

By Bryce HallReviewed by Editorial staffUpdated September 16, 202613 min read
CNA Schools in Saginaw, MI | Compare Programs

Key Points

  • Saginaw CNA tuition ranges $780 to $1,500, excluding books and exam fees.
  • Saginaw metro nursing assistants earn a median $36,740 across 1,210 jobs.
  • Delta College anchors Saginaw CNA training at its Downtown Saginaw Center.

Covenant HealthCare and Ascension St. Mary's anchor Saginaw's acute-care hiring, but skilled nursing facilities and home health agencies across the metro fill even more CNA positions year-round. Local training programs typically list tuition between $780 and $1,500, with books, scrubs, and state exam fees billed separately.

Tuition at area schools depends on how books, scrubs, and state exam fees are handled; hybrid coursework combines online study with required clinical hours, so review how to prepare for CNA clinicals; and scheduling options vary for students juggling jobs or family obligations. Jump straight to the program list →

Saginaw's CNA Job Market: Hospitals, Long-Term Care, and Employer Demand

Saginaw's healthcare job market revolves around a handful of major employers that consistently hire certified nursing assistants for round-the-clock patient care. Understanding who hires, what shifts look like, and which facilities may even pay for your training can help you understand the CNA job outlook and plan your career path before classes begin.

Major Employers in the Saginaw Area

The largest hospital systems actively recruiting CNAs in Saginaw include Covenant HealthCare, Ascension St. Mary's, and HealthSource Saginaw, a county-owned facility that serves behavioral health and long-term care populations. Skilled nursing and assisted living communities, such as Saginaw Senior Care, round out the employer landscape with steady openings driven by an aging regional population.

Employer-Sponsored Training and Direct Hiring

Many of these facilities hire CNAs directly instead of using staffing agencies, and some offer CNA tuition reimbursement for employees who agree to work at the facility after certification. If cost is a concern, asking local nursing homes and hospitals about sponsored slots is a practical first step.

Shifts and Patient Populations

CNAs in Saginaw typically work 8- or 12-hour shifts, including evenings, overnights, and weekends. Hospital roles tend to involve acute care patients with faster turnover, while long-term care settings focus on elderly residents who need ongoing assistance with daily activities. Both settings value reliability and physical stamina, so expect a hands-on, fast-paced workday regardless of where you land.

Online and Hybrid CNA Options for Saginaw Students

Fully online CNA programs remain rare among CNA classes in Michigan because the state requires supervised clinical hours that cannot be completed virtually. Most programs advertised as online are actually Hybrid Online CNA Classes, combining web-based coursework with mandatory in-person clinical rotations at approved facilities.

Why Fully Remote Is Not an Option

Michigan's nurse aide training standards require hands-on patient care practice under direct supervision. Skills like measuring vital signs, assisting with mobility, and performing hygiene care must be demonstrated in real clinical settings before you can sit for the state competency exam.

Hybrid Options for Saginaw Students

The programs in the Saginaw region available in our database are delivered on campus rather than through hybrid or online formats. Schools like Delta College CNA program in University Center, Ross Medical Education Center in Midland, and Mott Community College in Flint all require in-person attendance for both classroom instruction and clinical rotations.

If you find a hybrid program based in another Michigan city, you may still be able to complete your clinical hours locally. Many schools partner with long-term care facilities and hospitals across the state, allowing students to arrange rotations closer to home. Before enrolling in any out-of-area program, confirm with the school that they can place you at a Saginaw-area clinical site or that they will accept a site you identify yourself.

CNA Salary and Job Outlook in Saginaw Metro

In the Saginaw metro area, nursing assistants earn a median annual wage of $36,740, which is slightly below Michigan's statewide median of $38,930. The metro area reported about 1,210 nursing assistant jobs in May 2023, while the statewide total was roughly 38,360. These figures come from the most recent BLS occupational employment and wage estimates for the region.

AreaMedian Annual WageEmployment
Saginaw, MI Metropolitan Area$36,7401,210
Michigan statewide$38,93038,360

What CNA Classes Cost in Saginaw: Tuition, Fees, and Total Price

Saginaw area CNA programs publish a wide range of prices, and many schools do not itemize books, uniforms, background checks, or exam fees on the program page. Published figures for local training options currently run from about $780 to $1,500 in tuition alone, while a typical Michigan all-in total ranges from $780 to $1,550 including materials and the state competency exam. Contact each school for a final itemized cost before you enroll.

ProgramTuitionFeesBooks & SuppliesTotal Estimated Cost
1st Step CNA Training Program LLC$1,500$220 deposit applied to tuitionNot itemized$1,500 (standard tuition)
Education and Training Connection (ETC) Saginaw$780 listed (2026); $1,500 regular tuition (2024)Not itemizedNot itemized$780 tuition only (2026 listing)
I-XCELL Training Institute LLC Saginaw$935Not itemizedNot itemized$935 tuition only

Did you know CNAs in the Saginaw metro area often earn a median wage close to, or even slightly above, the Michigan state median? That means local job seekers may not need to relocate to bigger cities to find competitive CNA pay.

Top CNA Programs Serving Saginaw Students

Below are the top CNA programs serving Saginaw students, ranked by local access, program flexibility, and total cost. Delta College stands out for its Downtown Saginaw Center and direct pathway into regional nursing jobs. The remaining options include accelerated, low-cost, and campus-based programs across Michigan that accept Saginaw-area learners.

Delta College

#1

University Center, MI · $5,000/yr (est. net price)

Best for: Saginaw residents wanting local nursing pathway

Delta College is the most direct choice for Saginaw students, with a Downtown Saginaw Center for advising and registration. Its Certified Nursing Assistant training is Michigan-approved and serves as a formal entry point into Delta's nursing program. Graduates commonly appear at Saginaw area employers such as Covenant HealthCare and long-term care facilities.

ACEN accredited
  • 116-hour CNA training exceeds Michigan's 75-hour minimum
  • Eligible for Michigan Nurse Aide examination
  • Blended in-person and online course format
  • Two semesters, 25 credits for advanced certificate
  • In-district tuition about $4,910 to $8,030
  • Covers dementia care and safe patient transfers
  • ACEN accredited

Ross Medical Education Center-Midland

#2

Midland, MI · $15,000 – $20,000/yr (est.)

Best for: Working adults needing fast two-week entry

Ross Medical Education Center in Midland offers a two-week Nursing Assistant program within commuting distance of Saginaw. The campus-based format includes 6.5 clinical hours at local facilities and hands-on patient care training. Graduates prepare for the Michigan Nurse Aide Certification Examination.

  • 2-week program duration
  • 6.5 clinical hours at local facilities
  • Campus-based training
  • Prepares for Michigan Nurse Aide Certification Examination
  • Covers vital signs, infection control, residents' rights
  • Experienced field instructors

Washtenaw Community College

#3

Ann Arbor, MI · $3,000/yr (est. net price)

Best for: Cost-focused learners open to commuting

Washtenaw Community College in Ann Arbor offers a low-cost Nursing Assistant Skills Training certificate that prepares students for the Michigan CNA exam. The program runs four to five weeks and combines classroom, lab, and clinical training. Although it is a longer commute from Saginaw, the total cost is among the lowest in the state.

  • Four- to five-week program length
  • State-certified certificate program
  • Classroom, lab, and clinical training
  • Eligibility for Michigan CNA exam
  • Hands-on clinical experience

Schoolcraft Community College District

#4

Livonia, MI · under $5,000/yr (est.)

Schoolcraft College in Livonia provides a Skills Certificate in Nursing Assistant through its ACEN-accredited health professions division. The campus-based program focuses on direct patient care skills and certification preparation. It is outside the Saginaw area but offers a low net price for Michigan residents.

ACEN accredited
  • Skills Certificate program
  • Campus-based format
  • ACEN accredited
  • Prepares for certification

Kellogg Community College

#5

Battle Creek, MI · ~$5,000/yr (est.)

Kellogg Community College in Battle Creek offers both a standard Nursing Assistant Training and an iACT CNA Training option. The standard program runs 80.5 hours with flexible 11-week, six-week, or three-week formats across multiple campuses. The iACT program may be free for eligible participants and includes career coaching.

ACEN accredited
  • 80.5-hour training program
  • Approved by Michigan regulatory agency
  • Prepares for CNA certification exam
  • Flexible 11-week, six-week, three-week options
  • Multiple campus locations
  • Eligible for testing scholarship
  • ACEN accredited
ACEN accredited
  • Free for eligible participants
  • Includes BLS and First Aid
  • Career coaching and job placement assistance
  • Income and residency guidelines apply
  • Campus-based program
  • ACEN accredited

Lansing Community College

#6

Lansing, MI · $5,000 – $10,000/yr (est.)

Lansing Community College offers a combined Certified Nurse Aide and Patient Care Technician program that can be completed in as little as one semester. The campus-based program is approved by Michigan's regulatory agency and is designed for working students needing flexible scheduling.

  • Campus-based program
  • Program length under one semester
  • Flexible for working students
  • Approved by Michigan regulatory agency
  • Includes CNA and PCT training

Grand Rapids Community College

#7

Grand Rapids, MI · ~$9,000/yr (est.)

Grand Rapids Community College offers a four-week accelerated Certified Nurse Assistant Training Program with small class sizes. The program exceeds state minimum training hours and includes hands-on practice for immediate healthcare employment. Financial support and career coaching may be available through workforce training.

ACEN accredited
  • Four-week accelerated program
  • Small class sizes
  • Exceeds state minimum requirements
  • Hands-on practical training
  • ACEN accredited
  • Financial support and career coaching available

St Clair County Community College

#8

Port Huron, MI · ~$6,000/yr (est.)

St Clair County Community College in Port Huron offers a fast 96-hour Certified Nurse Aide program with no prerequisites. The program prepares students for the Michigan CNA exam and includes a 12 percent job growth projection for Michigan. It is a longer commute from Saginaw but offers a straightforward entry point.

ACEN accredited
  • 96-hour training program
  • No prerequisites required
  • Prepares for Michigan CNA exam
  • 12 percent job growth projection
  • ACEN accredited

West Shore Community College

#9

Scottville, MI · ~$2,000/yr (est.)

West Shore Community College in Scottville offers a Nurse Assistant Multi-Skilled Health Care program that prepares students for state certification. The campus-based program covers infection control, vital signs, and HIPAA compliance. It has the lowest net price in this ranking, though it is located in western Michigan.

  • Prepares for state CNA testing
  • Campus-based program delivery
  • Teaches patient care fundamentals
  • Includes infection control training
  • Covers vital sign measurement
  • HIPAA compliance training

North Central Michigan College

#10

Petoskey, MI · $10,000 – $15,000/yr (est.)

North Central Michigan College in Petoskey offers a 19-credit Certified Nurse Aide certificate with both four-week and semester formats. The program includes clinical lab and long-term care facility training. Background checks and immunizations are required for clinical placement.

  • 19 credit hour program
  • Certificate of Development credential
  • Campus-based instruction
  • Four-week or semester format available
  • Prepares for Michigan CNA exam
  • Background check and immunization required

Frequently Asked Questions About Saginaw CNA Classes

Saginaw CNA programs vary in price, schedule, and clinical structure. These answers cover what prospective students most often ask before enrolling. Always confirm current availability, fees, and state approval directly with the program before paying a deposit.

  1. How much do CNA classes cost in Saginaw, MI?

    Named Saginaw providers generally range from about $780 to $1,500. Education and Training Connection lists $780 for one self-pay configuration and $1,500 for another. 1st Step CNA Training lists $1,500 standard, with a $220 deposit, $21 clinical t-shirt fee, and a separate $175 state testing fee. Some area programs are lower, such as Covenant HealthCare around $600 and Delta College around $800.

  2. Are there free CNA classes in Saginaw?

    No major Saginaw CNA school markets standard classes as universally free in 2026, but subsidized options exist. Saginaw County Department of Public Health may offer free CNA training programs for income-qualified or public assistance recipients, though 2026 availability is not fully confirmed. Employer-linked nursing home training can cover costs for employees. State scholarships can pay up to $1,500 per awardee at 1st Step.

  3. How long does it take to become a CNA in Saginaw?

    Programs range from about 2 to 6 weeks. 1st Step CNA Training advertises a two-week daytime option, with evening and weekend schedules that may extend the timeline. Education and Training Connection runs a 4-week program. Delta College takes 6 weeks and 120 hours. Michigan requires at least 75 training hours for CNA programs, though specific Saginaw programs may require more.

  4. What are the requirements for CNA classes in Saginaw?

    Requirements vary by program. Saginaw Valley State University and Delta College require students to be 18 or older with a high school diploma or GED. Michigan standards commonly include being at least 16 to 18, having a high school diploma or GED, English proficiency, and a background check, but not every Saginaw provider states these details publicly. 1st Step does not clearly list age or education prerequisites.

  5. Which Saginaw CNA programs offer evening or weekend classes?

    1st Step CNA Training is the Saginaw-named program clearly advertising evening and weekend schedules in 2026, though it does not state whether these take longer than the two-week daytime track. Statewide Flexible CNA Class Schedules often run 5 to 8 weeks or 5 weekends. Education and Training Connection meets 3 days per week but does not specify day or evening. Davis Training Institute is daytime only.

  6. Do Saginaw CNA programs include clinical hours?

    Yes, clinical hours are a standard part of Saginaw CNA training. Saginaw Valley State University includes 16 clinical hours within a 75-hour program. Education and Training Connection includes clinical in its 4-week program, though the exact count is not stated. Delta College's 120-hour program includes clinical hours. Covenant HealthCare's 75-hour program does not publicly break out its clinical component. 1st Step's total hours are not published.

  7. What is 1st Step CNA Training Saginaw and is it state-approved?

    1st Step CNA Training is a Saginaw provider at 3085 Bay Rd, Suite 6, offering two-week daytime plus evening and weekend options. Standard tuition is $1,500, with a $220 deposit, a $21 t-shirt fee, and a $175 state testing fee. A 2026 sale reduced tuition to $990 with code SALE221. State approval is not explicitly confirmed in available sources, so verify it on the LARA approved program list before paying a deposit.

  8. Can I take CNA classes online in Saginaw?

    CNA training cannot be completed fully online because Michigan requires in-person clinical hours. Named Saginaw providers in 2026 are primarily in-person. Education and Training Connection lists in-person delivery, and 1st Step advertises daytime, evening, and weekend schedules. Ask individual programs whether any theory portion can be completed online.

Recent Articles