CNA Schools in Hemet, California: Find the Right Training Path

Compare CDPH-approved CNA programs, costs, schedules, and job placement in Hemet.

Reviewed by Editorial staffUpdated September 16, 202620 min read
CNA Schools in Hemet, CA | CNA Classes & Programs

Key Points

  • Riverside County's aging population drives steady demand for CNAs.
  • California requires in-person clinical hours for CNA certification.
  • Hemet-area CNA tuition ranges from about $932 to $2,350.

Balancing tuition, scheduling, and commute distance shapes most CNA decisions for Hemet students, especially when several approved programs cluster within a 30-mile radius. Riverside County's aging population continues to push CNA demand, with local employers like Hemet Valley Medical Center, Hemet Hills Post-Acute Care, and numerous assisted living facilities posting regular openings.

Hemet itself has a handful of training options, but students often look to Riverside or San Jacinto for lower tuition or more flexible class times. You can compare CDPH-approved programs, realistic costs, online and hybrid formats, salary expectations, and which schools offer the strongest value for Hemet-area students.

Jump straight to the program list →

CNA Job Market in Hemet: Major Employers and Demand

How many CNAs does Hemet actually need, and who is hiring right now? Riverside County's rapidly aging population is creating steady demand for certified nursing assistants across hospitals, skilled nursing facilities, assisted living communities, and home health agencies. Hemet sits at the center of that growth.

Major Healthcare Employers in Hemet

The city and surrounding San Jacinto Valley offer a wide range of CNA work settings:

  • Hemet Valley Medical Center (KPC Health): The area's primary hospital posts full-time day shifts, per diem 12-hour shifts, and part-time positions. Pay ranges from roughly $21.00 to $24.60 per hour in 2026. Some roles require prior skilled nursing or sub-acute experience.
  • Devonshire Care Center: A skilled nursing facility paying $21 to $23 per hour across all shifts. Devonshire also offers a free CNA training pathway, though specific terms vary.
  • Ramona Rehabilitation & Post Acute Care Center: Hourly rates around $20.10 to $22.00.
  • Meadowbrook Post Acute and Hemet Hills Post Acute: Entry-level rates starting near $18.50 to $19 per hour.
  • The Village Health Care Center: A continuing care community paying approximately $19 to $21 per hour.
  • Brookdale Senior Living: Assisted living roles starting around $16.50 to $19.42 per hour.
  • Home health agencies such as Care At Home and CareLinx offer $18 to $20 per hour, though many require a home health aide certification and at least one year of licensed experience.

Local Demand and Job Postings

As of mid-2026, roughly 200 CNA positions are listed in the Hemet area, and a Riverside County job board posted 77 openings in June 2026 alone, some with $300 to $600 hiring bonuses. Weekend shift differentials of $2 per hour and holiday differentials of $5 per hour are common incentives.

The average CNA hourly wage in Hemet is $20.13, with most earners falling between $16.39 and $22.69 depending on experience, employer, and shift.

Job Placement After Training

Program-level placement rates specific to Hemet are not currently published by local schools. However, regional CNA programs in Riverside County, such as CNA classes in Riverside, CA, report strong employment outcomes, and the concentration of skilled nursing facilities within a short drive of Hemet means graduates typically find work quickly. Employer partnerships, especially through facilities like Devonshire that run their own training pipelines, further shorten the path from classroom to paycheck.

Online and Hybrid CNA Classes With Clinical Sites Near Hemet

If you have searched for "online CNA classes Hemet CA," here is the key detail to know: California does not allow fully online CNA certification. The state requires all clinical training hours to be completed in person at an approved facility. However, many programs let you complete up to 60 hours of theory coursework online before heading to a clinical site, and several hybrid options serve students in the Hemet area.

What "Hybrid" Means for CNA Training

In a hybrid CNA program, you study foundational topics like infection control, patient rights, and vital signs through an online classroom. You then complete hands-on skills labs and supervised clinical rotations at a healthcare facility in person. This format gives you scheduling flexibility on the lecture side while still meeting California's clinical requirements.

Hybrid Programs Near Hemet

Several programs within driving distance of Hemet, including CNA Classes in Temecula, CA, offer this blended approach:

  • CSUSM CNA Program (Temecula): Theory is delivered online Monday and Tuesday evenings from 5 to 9 p.m. Skills lab sessions take place Wednesday evenings at the Temecula campus, and clinical rotations run on Saturdays from 6:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. at sites in Temecula and Southwest Riverside County. The evening and weekend schedule works well for students who hold daytime jobs.
  • High Desert Medical College (Temecula): This hybrid program can be completed in about six weeks, combining online theory with in-person skills practice and clinical rotations in Temecula.
  • Allegiance Career Institute: Theory is delivered online in an asynchronous format, letting you study on your own schedule. Clinical training follows at sites in Murrieta or Riverside, with the specific location varying by cohort.
  • LMCC (Pomona): A 31-day hybrid program totaling 162 hours, roughly 10 days of online theory followed by 21 days of in-person clinicals. This program is listed on the ETPL, so students who qualify for WIOA Title I funding may be able to cover tuition.

Choosing Between Options

When comparing hybrid programs, weigh three factors: how far you will need to drive for clinicals, whether evening or weekend schedules fit your life, and total cost including any financial aid. Contact each school directly to confirm current clinical site locations and verify approval status with the California Department of Public Health before enrolling.

CDPH-Approved CNA Training Programs in Hemet and Nearby

The following schools offer nursing assistant training that is approved by the California Department of Public Health (CDPH) or that meets CDPH requirements for state CNA certification. Hemet has local options, and nearby Riverside adds several community college and private career school choices. Contact programs directly to confirm current start dates, tuition, and admission details.

Program NameAddressPhoneCDPH ApprovedNotes
California Healthcare Skills Center: Nursing Assistant Training Program (NATP)Hemet, CAN/AYes2026 program catalog states NATP is approved by CDPH; admission criteria and curriculum follow CDPH requirements.
Hemet CNA Program: Nurse Assistant Training Program (NATP) at Southern California Nursing Academy, Inc. (SoCal Nursing)Hemet, CAN/AYesDescribed as an accredited CDPH-approved Nurse Assistant Training Program through Aide and Technician Certification Section and Training Program Review Unit; prepares students for CNA certification.
Riverside City College School of Nursing: Nursing Assistant Training Program (NATP) / Certified Nurse Assistant4800 Magnolia Avenue, Riverside, CA 92506(951) 222-8407YesCommunity college NATP approved by CDPH; prepares students to meet state training requirements for Certified Nurse Assistant.
Mission Career College: Nurse Assistant Program (Certified Nurse Assistant)3750 Santa Fe Avenue, Riverside, CA 92507(951) 688-7411Yes160-hour CDPH-approved course (60 hours theory and 100 hours clinical) meeting state requirements for certification.
Best American Healthcare University: Certified Nurse Assistant Program (Riverside)6700 Indiana Avenue, Suite 255, Riverside, CA 92506(951) 637-8332YesDelivers full 160-hour CDPH curriculum (60 theory and 100 clinical); approved by CDPH Licensing and Certification Division.
Riverside County Office of Education, School of Career Education: Patient Care Technician (CNA Program)2100 East Alessandro Boulevard, Riverside, CA 92508N/AImpliedPCT 101 Nursing Assistant course exceeds CDPH-mandated 160 hours; program directory lists it among state-approved programs, but direct CDPH approval phrase not in snippet.

How to Become a CNA in Hemet: Requirements and Steps

CNA training in Hemet requires clearing a fixed set of state checkpoints before you ever touch a syringe or a gait belt.

Basic Eligibility

Most Hemet-area programs set enrollment at 18, though some state guidance references 16 as a floor, so confirm the age policy directly with the school. You will also need a high school diploma or GED (some programs accept an entrance exam in place of this), a clean or cleared Live Scan background check, a physical exam, a TB test completed within 90 days of your clinical start, and current immunization records. Lawful work authorization with a Social Security number or ITIN is required, but citizenship is not.

Training Hours

California sets a baseline training requirement built around 60 classroom hours plus supervised clinical practice, with total program length commonly cited around 150 to 160 hours depending on the source and school. Clinical hours must take place in an approved setting such as a skilled nursing facility, intermediate care facility, or ICF/DD site. Because reporting on the exact hour split varies, treat any single number as approximate and verify it with your chosen program before enrolling.

Verifying CDPH Approval

Before signing up, confirm the program appears on the California Department of Public Health's CDPH approved CNA programs directory. Visit the CDPH Health Licensing and Certification site, locate the CNA program directory, and search by county or business name for your Hemet-area school. If a program is missing, recently renamed, or shows a pending status, contact CDPH directly at [email protected] or (916) 327-2445 rather than assuming it is unapproved.

Exam and Renewal

The competency exam includes a written portion (roughly 60 questions, 70% passing) and a CNA clinical skills demonstration. Certification processing typically takes 10 to 15 business days after results, and renewal occurs every 24 months with 48 hours of in-service training required to stay active.

How Long Does It Take to Become a CNA in Hemet?

For most Hemet students, becoming a CNA follows a clear sequence from approved training to state registry listing. Your actual timeline can vary with class scheduling, exam availability, and background check processing.

Step-by-step path from CDPH-approved training to California nurse aide registry listing and Hemet job applications.

CNA Program Costs and Financial Aid in Hemet

CNA program costs in Hemet range from about $932 to $2,350 for full tuition, with additional fees such as application charges. Several free or employer funded paths can reduce out of pocket costs, including WIOA grants and employer sponsored training with a work commitment. The table below compares the main cost components and free options available to Hemet students.

ProviderTuitionAdditional FeesTotal Estimated CostFinancial Aid / Free Options
SoCal Nursing Academy Hemet CNA Program$2,350$100 non-refundable application fee$2,350Not reported
Mt. San Jacinto College / Hemet HS CNA Program$932Books, materials, and other items included in total cost$932Classes are tuition-free for the short-term vocational CNA program; students pay materials and fees separately
Dwyer Workforce Development Free Healthcare Career Training$0Not reportedNot reportedFree healthcare career training to become a CNA through Dwyer Scholar pathway
Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act (WIOA) / Workforce Development FundingCovers 100% of tuitionCovers textbooks, scrubs, supplies, and state CNA exam fee$0 for eligible participantsEligibility includes unemployed individuals, low-income households, veterans, foster youth, recently laid-off workers, and CalWORKs or TANF recipients. No post-training work commitment
Employer-Sponsored Nursing Home or Hospital TrainingFree or heavily subsidizedTuition, textbooks, scrubs, and often state certification exam fee may be coveredNot reportedTypically requires 6 to 12 months of CNA employment at the sponsoring facility after training

Program Lengths and Schedules: 4-Week, Evening, and Weekend Options

Allegiance Career Institute runs a 4-week CNA course Monday through Friday from 7:00am to 3:30pm, one of the few clearly published accelerated formats serving Riverside County students near Hemet for the 2025-2026 schedule year.

Accelerated vs. Standard Timelines

Across California, accelerated CNA programs typically run 3 to 5 weeks, with 4 weeks being the most common format, though total classroom and clinical hours stay roughly the same regardless of CNA program length. By contrast, Mt. San Jacinto College delivers its CNA training over a full semester, totaling 160 to 180 hours, a standard academic timeline rather than a compressed one. As a general rule of thumb, expect accelerated tracks to run 4 to 8 weeks and standard college-based tracks to run 8 to 12 weeks, though exact pacing varies by provider and term.

Weekday, Evening, and Weekend Realities

Most Hemet-area and nearby Riverside County programs currently publish full-time weekday schedules only. We did not find a Hemet-area or Riverside County provider with formally published weekend CNA programs or evening tracks, so students needing that flexibility should call schools directly to ask about upcoming cohorts, since offerings can shift term to term without always appearing online.

Balancing Clinical Hours with Work

Whether a program runs 4 weeks or a full semester, clinical hours are usually scheduled in blocks during daytime hours at partnering care facilities, which can be difficult to coordinate around a full-time job. Working students often do better with the longer, semester-based format at a school like Mt. San Jacinto College, since spreading hours over more weeks leaves more room to negotiate shifts with an employer. Students who need to finish fast, such as those targeting a specific hire date, may prefer the intensive weekday model even though it leaves little room for outside work during the training period itself.

Top CNA Programs for Hemet Students: Ranked by Affordability and Outcomes

CDPH does not publish an easily comparable program-level pass-rate table for Hemet-area CNA programs, and many school sites do not post their institutional pass rates either. The CDPH directory lists Mt San Jacinto College/Hemet High School at 41701 E Stetson Avenue in Hemet as an approved training site, but no public pass rate was surfaced for that location. Use the schools below as a starting list, and confirm current cost, schedule, first-time pass rate, and cohort size directly with each program before enrolling.

Pasadena City College

#1

Pasadena, CA · under $5,000/yr (est.)

Hispanic-Serving Institution

Best for: Los Angeles basin students wanting certificate pathway

Pasadena City College offers a campus-based Certified Nursing Assistant Occupational Skills Certificate built around one 6-unit course. It prepares students for long-term care employment and covers essential nursing concepts and hands-on skills. The program uses pass/no pass grading and requires CPR certification, transportation to clinical sites, uniforms, and medical instruments. It is a Los Angeles-area option, not a Hemet-based program.

  • Occupational Skills Certificate program
  • One required 6-unit course
  • Eligible for California state certification exam
  • Requires CPR certification, uniforms, and medical instruments
  • Requires transportation to clinical sites
  • Pass/no pass grading with random selection

MiraCosta College

#2

Oceanside, CA · $1,000 – $10,000/yr (est.)

Hispanic-Serving Institution

Best for: North County commuters seeking accelerated format

MiraCosta College runs an accelerated eight-week nursing assistant program with 64 hours of theory, 104 hours of clinical training, and 18 hours in a skills lab. Average cost is about $600 for California residents, including tuition, books, and exam fees. Enrollment is limited to 20 students per session. This Oceanside program offers strong completion support but is not located in Hemet.

  • Accelerated eight-week schedule
  • 64 hours theory, 104 clinical, 18 skills lab
  • Average cost about $600 for California residents
  • Classes meet 23 hours weekly
  • Limited to 20 students per session
  • Requires ESL 150 completion and CPR card
  • School-reported 100% written exam pass rate

Citrus College

#3

Glendora, CA · $4,000/yr (est. net price)

Hispanic-Serving Institution

Best for: San Gabriel Valley learners needing weekend sections

Citrus College offers a Nurse Assistant Program with estimated costs around $341 plus uniforms and supplies. Admission is first-come, first-served after a mandatory orientation and department approval, with 15 to 30 students accepted per semester. The program prepares students for California certification and long-term care roles. Located in Glendora, it is outside Hemet.

  • Estimated cost around $341 plus supplies
  • First-come, first-served admission
  • Mandatory orientation required
  • Requires CPR, physical exam, TB test
  • 15 to 30 students accepted per semester
  • Qualifies for state certification exam

Charles A Jones Career and Education Center

#4

Sacramento, CA · ~$17,000/yr (est.)

Charles A Jones Career and Education Center delivers a five-week, 192-hour Nursing Assistant program that includes CPR certification. It requires CASAS reading and math scores, a drug and criminal background check, health clearance, and a negative TB test. No high school diploma is required, and tuition is currently $950 with scholarships available. This Sacramento program is far outside Hemet.

  • Five-week, 192 total training hours
  • Includes CPR certification
  • Tuition currently $950, scholarships available
  • Requires CASAS Reading 234 and Math 214
  • Minimum age 18, no high school diploma required
  • Requires drug and criminal background checks
  • Health clearance and negative TB test required

Rio Hondo College

#5

Whittier, CA · $10,000 – $15,000/yr (est.)

Hispanic-Serving Institution

Rio Hondo College offers a state-approved CNA program with 72 hours of theory and 135 hours of clinical training. It meets Title 22 regulations and prepares graduates for the National Nurse Aide Assessment Program exam. Admissions uses random selection for qualified applicants, and the program covers geriatric and emergency care. The Whittier campus is not in the Hemet area.

  • State-approved, meets Title 22 regulations
  • 72 hours theory and 135 hours clinical
  • Prepares for National Nurse Aide Assessment Program exam
  • Minimum age 16 with California ID and SSN/ITIN
  • Random selection admissions
  • Mandatory orientation required
  • Covers geriatric patient care and emergency care
  • Multiple course offerings annually

Institute of Technology

#6

Clovis, CA · ~$23,000/yr (est.)

Institute of Technology offers a Level One Nursing Assistant program at its Redding campus. The program meets California Department of Public Health curriculum requirements and blends patient care skills with interview preparation and employer connections. It is included as a general California option and is far from Hemet.

  • Meets California Department of Public Health requirements
  • Hands-on training at Redding campus
  • Prepares for competency evaluation exam
  • Covers patient care procedures, vital signs, nutrition
  • Career support including interview preparation
  • Employer connection networking

Gavilan College

#7

Gilroy, CA · ~$7,000/yr (est.)

Hispanic-Serving Institution

Gavilan College provides a campus-based Certified Nursing Assisting course of 8.5 units. Resident enrollment is $46 per unit, with additional costs for textbooks, uniforms, certification exam, and Live Scan. The program requires 100% attendance and starts each fall and spring. It is located in Gilroy, not near Hemet.

  • 8.5 unit campus-based course
  • $46 per unit for California residents
  • Textbook cost $76.03
  • Uniform cost $200, certification exam $120
  • Live Scan fingerprints required
  • 100% attendance mandatory
  • Classes start fall and spring

Imperial Valley College

#8

Imperial, CA · under $5,000/yr (est.)

Hispanic-Serving Institution

Imperial Valley College delivers a one-semester CNA/HHA campus program for students 17 and older. It includes clinical training and requires a physical exam, immunizations, background check, drug screen, and CPR certification. The state exam costs $100. This Imperial County program is outside the Hemet area.

  • One-semester campus program
  • Minimum age 17 and good health
  • Clinical training included
  • Requires physical exam, immunizations, background check
  • Drug screen and CPR certification required
  • State exam cost $100
  • 35 lb lifting minimum

College of the Sequoias

#9

Visalia, CA

Hispanic-Serving Institution

College of the Sequoias offers a Skill Certificate in Certified Nurse Assistant through one 6-unit course. Students must earn a C or better and complete clinical training to qualify for the state certifying exam. The program requires a criminal background check and CPR certification. The Visalia campus is not in the Hemet region.

  • One 6-unit course required
  • Prepares for state certifying exam
  • Requires grade C or better
  • Supervised clinical training included
  • Criminal background check required
  • CPR certification required

Reedley College

#10

Reedley, CA · $1,000 – $10,000/yr (est.)

Hispanic-Serving Institution

Reedley College offers a nursing assistant training program that pairs classroom theory with clinical practice at Palm Village Retirement Community. The one-semester program requires an orientation, physical exam, TB test, and MMR immunization. Graduates are eligible for the American Red Cross NAT exam. It is located in Reedley, not Hemet.

  • One semester intensive program
  • Clinical practice at local retirement community
  • Prepares for American Red Cross NAT exam
  • Requires orientation, physical exam, TB test
  • MMR immunization required
  • Financial aid available

Santa Barbara City College

#11

Santa Barbara, CA · ~$11,000/yr (est.)

Certified Nursing Assistant — On-CampusVisit Website

Butte College

#12

Oroville, CA · $1,000 – $9,000/yr (est.)

Certificate in Certified Nursing Assistant — On-CampusVisit Website

Long Beach City College

#13

Long Beach, CA · $2,000 – $13,000/yr (est.)

Vocational Nursing (VN) Program, Nursing Assistant — On-CampusVisit Website

Cuesta College

#14

San Luis Obispo, CA · ~$12,000/yr (est.)

Certified Nursing Assistant — On-CampusVisit Website

Southwestern College

#15

Chula Vista, CA · ~$13,000/yr (est.)

Certified Nursing Assistant — On-CampusVisit Website

American River College

#16

Sacramento, CA · ~$8,000/yr (est.)

Nurse Assistant & Home Health Aide — On-CampusVisit Website

Shasta College

#17

Redding, CA · $1,000 – $9,000/yr (est.)

Nurse Aide-Home Health Aide (CNA) — On-CampusVisit Website

College of the Siskiyous

#18

Weed, CA · $11,000/yr (est. net price)

Certified Nursing Assisting — On-CampusVisit Website

Summit College

#19

San Bernardino, CA · ~$30,000/yr (est.)

Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA) Program — On-CampusVisit Website

California Nurses Educational Institute

#20

Rancho Mirage, CA · ~$23,000/yr (est.)

Certified Nurses Assistant Program — On-CampusVisit Website
Certified Nurse Assistant (CNA) — On-CampusVisit Website

College of the Desert

#21

Palm Desert, CA · $16,000/yr (est. net price)

Nursing Assistant — On-CampusVisit Website

Allan Hancock College

#22

Santa Maria, CA · ~$5,000/yr (est.)

Certified Nursing Assistant/Acute Care Program — On-CampusVisit Website
Certified Nursing Assisting — On-CampusVisit Website

Merced College

#23

Merced, CA · $1,000 – $9,000/yr (est.)

Nurse Assistant — On-CampusVisit Website

University of Southern California

#24

Los Angeles, CA · ~$33,000/yr (est.)

Certified Nursing Assistant — On-CampusVisit Website

Annenberg School of Nursing

#25

Reseda, CA · $15,000 – $20,000/yr (est.)

Nurse Assistant Program — On-CampusVisit Website
Nurse Assistant (NA) — On-CampusVisit Website

Bakersfield College

#26

Bakersfield, CA · $15,000/yr (est. net price)

Certified Nurse Assistant (CNA) — On-CampusVisit Website

Riverside County Office of Education-School of Career Education

#27

Riverside, CA · ~$20,000/yr (est.)

Patient Care Technician, Nursing Assistant — HybridVisit Website
Certified Nurse Assisting (CNA) — On-CampusVisit Website

Regan Career Institute

#28

El Monte, CA

Certified Nursing Assistant Program — On-CampusVisit Website
Certified Nursing Assistant — On-CampusVisit Website

Mt San Antonio College

#29

Walnut, CA · $1,000 – $10,000/yr (est.)

Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA) — On-CampusVisit Website

How to Choose the Right CNA School in Hemet

No single program in Hemet is right for every student, which is why comparing options side by side matters more than picking the first name you see in a generic cna classes near me search.

Build a Simple Comparison Framework

Start with CDPH approval since that is non-negotiable: without it, your training hours will not count toward state certification. Beyond that, weigh four factors together rather than in isolation.

  • Total cost: Use the cost breakdown covered earlier to compare tuition, supply fees, and background check costs across schools, not just sticker price.
  • Length and schedule: A 4-week accelerated course suits someone who can train full time, while evening or weekend formats fit students juggling work or family.
  • Placement support: Ask whether the school actively connects graduates to local employers or simply hands you a certificate.
  • Overall fit: Start with the ranked programs listed earlier as a shortlist, then narrow based on your own budget and timeline.

Look for Cost Offsets

Some Hemet-area training providers partner with skilled nursing facilities or home health agencies that cover tuition if you commit to work there after certification. Others participate in workforce grants that reduce or eliminate fees for qualifying students. These arrangements can turn a several-hundred-dollar program into a free one, so ask admissions staff directly whether such partnerships exist before enrolling elsewhere.

Verify Claims in Person

Marketing materials and websites can only tell you so much. Call or visit each school to ask specific questions: What percentage of last year's class passed the state exam on the first try? Which facilities host clinical rotations, and how far are they from campus? Can you tour the skills lab or sit in on a class? A school confident in its outcomes will welcome these questions. Hesitation or vague answers are themselves useful information when narrowing your final choice.

Recent Articles