CNA Classes & Training Programs in Anaheim, CA (2026)

Compare accredited CNA programs in Anaheim, including costs, class schedules, and job placement, to start your career in healthcare.

Reviewed by Editorial staffUpdated August 24, 202619 min read
CNA Classes & Training Programs in Anaheim, CA (2026)

Key Points

  • Anaheim healthcare employers compete for CNAs at major hospitals and nursing facilities.
  • State-approved training requires 160 hours, with fast-track and part-time options.
  • California projects 13 percent CNA job growth by 2030, ensuring strong demand.

With a projected 13 percent job growth by 2030, Anaheim's healthcare sector is actively hiring CNAs. Training can take as few as four weeks, and many local schools offer evening or hybrid schedules. State regulations require 100 clinical hours, which hybrid programs let you begin online. State-approved programs, certification steps, and employer information are all in one place. Jump straight to the program list →

CNA Employers and Job Market in Anaheim

Anaheim's healthcare job market is one of the most active in Orange County for certified nursing assistants, with major hospitals and nursing facilities competing for trained aides. CNAs here step into roles that are the backbone of daily patient care, and employers are hiring across every shift and setting.

Major Acute-Care Employers

Anaheim and the surrounding area are home to several hospitals that consistently list CNA openings. Kaiser Permanente Orange County-Anaheim Medical Center is a leading employer, offering CNAs positions in med-surg, telemetry, and specialty units. AHMC Anaheim Regional Medical Center and West Anaheim Medical Center (part of Prime Healthcare) also hire nursing assistants for bedside support. Anaheim Global Medical Center, operated by KPC Health, is another key site, and CNAs have strong representation there through a union contract covering roughly 1,600 nurses across KPC's Orange County hospitals.1

Nursing Homes and Post-Acute Facilities

Skilled nursing and senior care settings fuel steady CNA demand. Facilities like Sun Mar Nursing Center, Park Anaheim Healthcare Center, Coventry Court Health Center, and Leisure Court Nursing Center frequently advertise for full-time, part-time, and per-diem aides. Other notable names include West Anaheim Extended Care, Anaheim Crest Nursing Center, Harbor Villa Care Center, and La Palma Nursing Center. In these settings, CNAs assist residents with daily living activities, mobility, and personal care, forming the primary hands-on caregiving workforce.2

What the Demand Looks Like in Anaheim

Job postings in mid-2026 show a mix of shift work, including nights from 11 p.m. to 7 a.m. and days from 7 a.m. to 3 p.m., indicating around-the-clock staffing needs. The per-diem model is especially common in post-acute sites, giving new CNAs flexibility to pick up hours while gaining experience working as a CNA. California's healthcare minimum wage rose to $25 per hour in 20263, which directly lifts pay floors for entry-level aides and signals long-term investment in the workforce. Union activity also points to a stable career path; the recent vote by KPC Health nurses to join the California Nurses Association highlights organized efforts to improve working conditions.1 As of late July 2026, the typical CNA salary in Anaheim is around $21.01 per hour4, with most aides earning between $17.12 and $23.65 per hour4, figures that the $25 minimum will push upward for many workers. Detailed salary trends and job growth projections are unpacked in the next section.

How to Become a CNA in California: Step-By-Step

You can approach CNA certification in California two ways: enroll in a fast-tracked program that gets you through the 160 required hours in four to six weeks, or spread the training across a longer part-time or evening schedule. Either route leads to the same destination, a spot on the California Nurse Aide Registry, but the timeline shapes how you balance work, family, and study.

Step 1: Enroll in a State-Approved Program

California only recognizes training completed through a program approved by the California Department of Public Health (CDPH). Community colleges, Red Cross chapters, ROP centers, and skilled nursing facilities around Anaheim all offer CDPH approved CNA programs. If a program is not on the CDPH-approved list, the hours will not count toward certification, so verify approval before you pay tuition.

Step 2: Complete 160 Hours of Training

The state requires a minimum of 160 total training hours, broken into:

  • Classroom theory: 60 hours covering patient rights, infection control, anatomy, communication, and safety.
  • Supervised clinical practice: 100 hours in a licensed skilled nursing facility, where you practice bedside care under a registered nurse instructor.1

Step 3: Pass the Competency Exam

After finishing training, you sit for the state competency exam, which has two parts: a written (or oral) knowledge test and a hands-on skills demonstration.1 You must pass both. If you fail one part, you can retake just that portion, though most candidates are given a limited number of attempts before needing to retrain.

Step 4: Clear the Background Check

California requires Live Scan fingerprinting and a criminal background check through the Department of Justice and the FBI.1 Most programs walk you through Live Scan during enrollment. Certain convictions can disqualify applicants, so if you have concerns, request a criminal record review from CDPH before investing in tuition.

Step 5: Get Listed on the Nurse Aide Registry

Once you pass the exam and clear your background check, CDPH adds you to the California Nurse Aide Registry.1 That listing is what employers verify when they hire you.

Step 6: Renew Every Two Years

Certification lasts two years. To renew, you need 48 hours of continuing education (24 hours per year) and proof of at least 8 paid hours of nursing-related work each year.2 Miss the renewal window and you may have to retest.

CNA Salary and Job Outlook in Anaheim

Understanding the local job market and earning potential is key when you're planning your CNA career. The table below shows wage and employment figures for nursing assistants in the Anaheim-area metro and several other California metros for comparison. These numbers come from the latest available data and reflect the broader Los Angeles-Long Beach-Anaheim region where most Anaheim CNAs work.

AreaTotal EmploymentMean Annual Wage25th PercentileMedian Annual Wage75th Percentile
Los Angeles-Long Beach-Anaheim, CA39,910$47,900$44,870$46,140$48,460
Riverside-San Bernardino-Ontario, CA9,040$45,300$40,640$44,950$47,050
San Diego-Chula Vista-Carlsbad, CA9,790$47,990$45,300$46,600$49,010
San Francisco-Oakland-Fremont, CA10,750$57,400$49,460$53,990$58,810

Questions to Ask Yourself

Some Anaheim programs offer hybrid learning, but California mandates in-person clinical hours. Online theory can add flexibility; hands-on learners should choose a fully campus-based program.

A wider search radius uncovers more state-approved options in cities like Fullerton, but a short commute saves time. Peak-hour traffic can turn a 35-mile drive into a lengthy trip.

Free or low-cost programs at community colleges sometimes have waitlists, while private schools with higher tuition may offer quicker job-placement support.

Evening and weekend CNA classes are less common near Anaheim. If you juggle work or family, confirm schedule availability before applying.

Online and Hybrid CNA Classes for Anaheim Students

A fully online CNA program does not exist in California because state regulations require every student to complete 100 hours of supervised clinical practice inside an approved healthcare facility. What many schools offer instead are hybrid CNA programs: you take the theory portion (60 hours) through online lectures, then attend in-person sessions for hands-on skills and clinical rotations.

What Hybrid Really Means

For Anaheim students, hybrid means you spend the first phase of training on your computer, learning anatomy, infection control, and patient rights through live or recorded sessions. The second phase puts you in a lab and a real care setting, practicing bed baths, vital signs, and transfers under an instructor's eye. California does not count online clinical hours toward the certification requirement,1 so the state-approved programs blend distance learning for theory with mandatory in-person labs and clinicals.

Programs Offering Online Theory Near Anaheim

Several schools within commuting range deliver the lecture portion online. Here are a few with published schedules:

  • Mckallen Medical Training (Ontario and Westminster): Both campuses offer theory live via Zoom. Choose a Monday through Thursday evening track (4 pm to 9:30 pm) or a Thursday through Sunday evening option (same hours).2
  • Lotus Medical Career College (Pomona): You complete 10 days of online theory at home using live Zoom sessions (Monday to Friday, 4 pm to 10:30 pm), then spend 21 days on campus for hands-on clinicals.4
  • LA Skills Academy (CNA classes in Los Angeles): A 60-hour online or classroom theory component plus 100 hours of clinical at a partner facility.3
  • CSUSM Extended Learning (CNA training in Temecula): Theory runs Monday and Tuesday evenings (5 pm to 9 pm) online, a skills lab is Wednesday evening on campus, and clinicals land on Saturdays (6:30 am to 5 pm).5

Within Anaheim city limits, Center for Caregiver Advancement and Nurses' Development Center, Inc. both list hybrid CNA programs, though their current schedules weren't published at the time of research.

Pros and Cons of Hybrid Learning

The appeal is obvious: you save commute time during the theory phase, often keep a day job, and study from home. Evening Zoom classes fit second-shift workers or parents. The downside is that online learning demands self-discipline and reliable internet access. You also miss the immediate, in-person feedback that a traditional classroom offers during the theory stage. For some students, the abrupt switch from virtual lectures to hands-on clinicals can feel jarring, but the state mandate for in-person clinical hours ensures you still graduate with verified bedside skills.

Top CNA Programs for Anaheim Students

Below are the top CNA programs serving Anaheim students, ranked by affordability, student success, and accessibility. Each school offers a state-approved nurse assistant training program designed to prepare you for California's certification exam, with options ranging from community colleges with low tuition to private institutions with fast-track schedules.

California Career Institute

#1

Anaheim, CA

Best for: Anaheim-based fast-track learners

Located right in Anaheim, California Career Institute offers a fast 7-week CNA program with hands-on training and career services. It is designed for quick entry into the healthcare workforce, though net price and graduation data are not publicly reported.

  • 7-week fast-track program
  • Located in Anaheim, CA
  • Hands-on patient care skills training
  • Career services assistance available

Pasadena City College

#2

Pasadena, CA · $0 – $5,000/yr

Best for: Budget-conscious students seeking quality training

Pasadena City College is a public community college with a low net price of $3,864 and a graduation rate near 48%. Its CNA program is a 6-unit Occupational Skills Certificate that includes clinical training and eligibility for state certification.

  • Occupational Skills Certificate program
  • One 6-unit course required
  • Eligible for California state certification exam
  • Requires valid CPR certification
  • Emphasizes safe and compassionate care
  • Random selection admissions process

Citrus College

#3

Glendora, CA · $4,000/yr (net price)

Best for: First-come, first-served enrollment seekers

Citrus College is another affordable public option with a net price around $4,135 and a graduation rate of 41%. The program admits students on a first-come, first-served basis and includes mandatory orientation, physical exams, and TB testing.

  • First-come, first-served admission
  • Estimated program cost around $341 plus supplies
  • Requires physical exam, TB test, and CPR certification
  • Prepares for California certification exam
  • Accepts 15-30 students per semester
  • Skill award available

Rio Hondo College

#4

Whittier, CA · $10,000 – $15,000/yr

Rio Hondo College offers a comprehensive CNA program with 72 hours of theory and 135 hours of clinical training, meeting Title 22 regulations. It accepts students as young as 16 and uses a random selection admissions process.

  • 72 hours theory + 135 hours clinical training
  • Meets California Title 22 regulations
  • Random selection admissions process
  • Must be at least 16 years old
  • Includes geriatric and emergency care skills
  • Reading assessment recommended

Long Beach City College

#5

Long Beach, CA · $2,000 – $13,000/yr

Long Beach City College is known for its 2,600-square-foot simulation lab, providing hands-on training for aspiring nursing assistants. The net price is about $6,202, and the program emphasizes career ladder advancement.

  • 2,600 sq ft simulation skills lab
  • State-of-the-art medical equipment
  • Multiple certificate pathways
  • Career ladder advancement focus

Summit College

#6

San Bernardino, CA · $30,000/yr

Summit College is a private institution with a long history, offering a state-approved CNA program in San Bernardino. Its net price is higher at $29,926, and it provides a supportive, diploma-focused learning environment.

  • State-approved by California health board
  • ACCET institutional accreditation
  • Over 30 years of career training experience

Riverside County Office of Education-School of Career Education

#7

Riverside, CA · ~$20,000/yr (est.)

Riverside County Office of Education offers both a hybrid Patient Care Technician program (20 weeks, $10,200) and a traditional CNA program that exceeds state-mandated hours. Earnings data for graduates are not yet available.

  • 20-week hybrid program
  • Cost: $10,200
  • Financial aid available
  • Includes EKG and home health aide training
  • Internship opportunities
  • CPR and First Aid certification included
  • Exceeds 160 state-mandated hours
  • Includes acute care training
  • Home health aide certification
  • EKG basics included
  • First Aid certification through AHA

Regan Career Institute

#8

El Monte, CA

Regan Career Institute in El Monte offers a 5-10 week CNA program with 100 hours of externship and flexible class schedules. Net price and completion data are not reported.

  • 5-10 week program duration
  • 100-hour clinical externship
  • ABHES accredited
  • Flexible day, evening, and weekend schedules
  • California Department of Public Health approved
  • Minimum age 16 years

University of Southern California

#9

Los Angeles, CA · $33,000/yr

USC's CNA program is a unique high school pipeline offering concurrent enrollment and 6-8 week internships. With a net price of $32,740, it serves a distinct demographic of high-achieving students.

  • 15-16 week program for high school juniors and seniors
  • Concurrent enrollment earning high school and college credits
  • 6-8 week clinical internships
  • Requires 3.0 GPA and counselor recommendation
  • State certification upon completion
  • Partnership with West LA College

Mt San Antonio College

#10

Walnut, CA · $1,000 – $10,000/yr

Mt San Antonio College in Walnut provides a noncredit CNA certificate with a low net price of $6,490. The short-term program focuses on job readiness and offers elective tracks in acute care and home health.

  • Noncredit certificate program
  • Hands-on skills lab included
  • Prepares for national certification exam
  • Elective options in Acute CNA and Home Health Aide
  • Job readiness focus

California is projected to see a 13 percent growth in CNA jobs by 2030, according to the Public Policy Institute of California. This growth is tied to an expanding care workforce expected to reach 1.2 million jobs statewide, making now an excellent time to enter this high demand field.

Frequently Asked Questions About CNA Training in Anaheim

Here are answers to common questions about CNA training programs in the Anaheim area. Find details on scheduling, costs, exam requirements, and more to help you prepare for a career in healthcare.

  1. Can I take CNA classes online in Anaheim?

    Yes, many Anaheim-area programs offer online theory coursework, but California requires in-person clinical training. Approved providers combine 60 hours of online or classroom theory1 with hands-on clinical practice at a skilled nursing facility. Always verify that the online portion is approved by the California Department of Public Health, and use cna online resources.

  2. How long does it take to become a CNA in California?

    CNA training programs typically take 3 to 8 weeks2, depending on schedule and format. Full-time, accelerated courses can be completed in as few as 3-4 weeks, while part-time evening or weekend programs may extend to 7 or 8 weeks. Most programs include 60 hours of theory and 100 hours of supervised clinical practice1.

  3. What is the passing score for the CNA exam in California?

    The California Department of Public Health does not publish a specific percentage for the NNAAP competency exam. Test-takers must pass both a written (or oral) knowledge test and a skills demonstration. Individual training programs may set internal passing thresholds for course completion, such as 75%3, but this is not the official state exam standard.

  4. How much does CNA training cost in Anaheim?

    Total program costs vary widely, from $500 to $10,2001, with many full programs ranging $1,700 to $2,995. Some schools offer payment plans or include textbooks, uniforms, and exam fees. Always confirm what is covered in the tuition and ask about any additional lab or registration charges.

  5. Are there CNA classes with evening or weekend schedules in Anaheim?

    Absolutely. Several providers offer flexibility for working adults. For example, Coast Health Career College runs evening sessions Tuesday through Thursday, 4pm to 8pm, plus three Saturdays. Other schools, like those offered in cna training irvine, schedule weekend-only classes, weekday evenings, or hybrid formats to accommodate different needs.

  6. How do I verify that a CNA program is state-approved?

    Check the California Department of Public Health (CDPH) website for the official list of approved CNA training providers. Only programs on this list qualify graduates to take the NNAAP competency exam and become certified. Avoid any school not listed, as its training will not count toward state certification requirements.

State-Approved CNA Programs Near Anaheim: Costs, Schedules, and Details

Below are state-approved CNA training options within roughly 35 miles of Anaheim. Details come from each school's published materials. Where a data point isn't included, it means the school hasn't publicly listed it. Always confirm current tuition, start dates, and prerequisites directly with the school before enrolling.

Programs in Anaheim

Coast Health Career College - Location: 1741 W. Katella Avenue, Suite 201, Anaheim, CA 92804 - Total program cost: $1,700 - Length: 7 weeks - State approval: Approved by the California Department of Public Health1 - Prerequisites: High school diploma or GED, TB skin test, physical exam, fingerprinting, and background check - Best for: Students who want a short, low-cost program close to central Anaheim2

North Orange County Regional Occupational Program (NOCROP) - Location: 1800 W. Ball Road, Anaheim, CA 92804 - Schedule: Evening program (office hours 7:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m., Monday to Friday) - Classroom hours: 67 - Clinical hours: 101 - State approval: Approved by CDPH1 - Additional cost: NNAAP state exam fee around $130, with additional fees for retakes - Contact: (714) 502-5904 - Best for: Working adults who need after-hours classes and a publicly operated training option

VSK Healthcare Learning Institute - Location: 631 South Brookhurst Street, Suite 210-211, Anaheim, CA 92804 - State approval: Approved by CDPH1 - Note: VSK hosts classroom instruction for the CSULB CNA program (see below)

California Career Institute - Location: 1240 S State College Blvd #135, Anaheim, CA 92806 - Tuition, schedule, and clinical placement details are not published online. Contact the school directly for a current program packet

Programs Serving Anaheim Students From Nearby Cities

LA Skills Academy - Total program cost: $1,990 - State approval: Approved by CDPH1 - Minimum age: 16 - Prerequisites (completed after registration): Valid ITIN or SSN, physical exam, TB test, flu shot, and COVID vaccine or approved medical exemption - Best for: Younger students (16+) looking for an affordable, state-approved entry point

CSULB CNA Program (California State University, Long Beach) - Classroom instruction: Held at VSK Healthcare Learning Institute in Anaheim (631 S. Brookhurst St., Suite 210) - Clinical site: Courtyard Care Center, 1880 Dawson Ave, Signal Hill, CA 90755 - State approval: Approved by CDPH1 - Minimum age: 18 - Prerequisites: High school diploma or GED, documentation of good health, current immunizations, background check, and completion of a California-approved training program - Best for: Anaheim students seeking CNA training in Long Beach with local classroom access

Platt College - State approval: Approved by CDPH1 - Platt operates campuses in the greater Orange County/Los Angeles region. Tuition and schedule vary by campus, request the current program sheet from admissions

What to Ask Before You Enroll

Program pages don't always list every fee, and schedules shift term to term. When you contact any of the schools above, ask for:

  • The total out-of-pocket cost, including books, uniforms, background check, TB test, physical, fingerprinting, and the state exam fee
  • The exact number of theory and clinical hours (California requires at least 60 theory and 100 clinical hours1)
  • Where clinical rotations take place and whether transportation is your responsibility
  • The most recent NNAAP state exam pass rate for that campus
  • Whether the school assists with job placement after certification

Getting these answers in writing helps you compare programs on the same terms and avoid surprises once you've already paid a deposit.

Recent Articles