Key Points
- Grand Junction job boards listed 75 open CNA positions in 2026.
- Colorado requires 75 hours of approved CNA training before state exams.
- Some full-time Grand Junction programs finish in 2 to 4 weeks.
Compare Grand Junction CNA programs by cost, schedule, and requirements.

Grand Junction ranks among western Colorado's largest healthcare employment hubs, with Community Hospital, St. Mary's Hospital, and a growing network of skilled nursing facilities driving consistent CNA demand. Mesa County posted roughly 75 open nursing assistant positions in 2026, and local employers continue sponsoring free training to fill shifts.
Program costs range from zero dollars through employer-paid cohorts to around $2,000 for community college or private academy tuition. The spread depends on format, financial aid eligibility, and whether a facility underwrites your seat in exchange for a work commitment.
Local salary benchmarks, online and in-person program options, Colorado certification requirements, cost comparisons, and admission details are covered next. Jump straight to the program list →
Mesa County's healthcare sector isn't slowing down, and CNA hiring reflects that: local job boards showed 75 open certified nursing assistant positions in Grand Junction with fresh postings appearing nearly every month through 2026.1 That kind of steady turnover signals an industry that keeps absorbing new graduates rather than one flooded with applicants chasing too few openings.
The city's two hospital systems anchor the market. St. Mary's Hospital2 and Community Hospital3 both post CNA and clinic nursing assistant openings regularly, and Intermountain Health also recruits in Grand Junction, with a path for CNAs in good standing to move into Patient Care Tech or Home Care Aide roles.4 Beyond the hospitals, demand runs through skilled nursing and rehab facilities like Mantey Heights Rehabilitation and Care Center1 and Red Cliffs Post Acute, home health providers such as HopeWest,5 assisted living communities, dialysis clinics, and outpatient centers.8 La Villa Grande Care Center's posted pay range, $18 to $26.75 an hour, illustrates how wages vary by shift, facility type, and experience rather than following one fixed number.6
Mesa County's population skews older than the state average, and that demographic reality drives consistent need for hands-on care across hospitals, long-term care, and in-home settings. Colorado's broader labor market projections, published by the state's Department of Labor and Employment in early 2026, point to continued growth in healthcare support occupations statewide, generally tracking with or ahead of national hiring trends for nursing assistants.7 A metro-specific growth figure for Grand Junction isn't published, but the volume and frequency of local postings tell a similar story on the ground.1
Many of these employers recruit directly from Western Colorado Community College and CMU Tech, whose CNA classes in Colorado feed graduates into clinical rotations and, often, job offers at the same facilities where they trained. That pipeline matters for students weighing where to enroll, since a program's local hiring relationships can shorten the gap between certification and landing your first CNA job.
Hybrid CNA programs simply mean the classroom lecture portion happens on a computer at home, while the hands-on skills lab and supervised patient care still happen in person, since Colorado requires at least 75 hours of total training and 16 of those hours must be direct clinical contact before certification. Because Grand Junction itself has a small number of on-site classroom seats, most students end up weighing a mix of remote coursework and local in-person options rather than finding one program that does everything.
Statewide, Colorado lists more than 100 state-approved CNA programs, and roughly two dozen of them offer some form of online coursework. None of these are fully online, since the skills lab and clinical hours always happen face to face. For Mesa County residents, the closest documented hybrid option is in Delta, where Technical College of the Rockies runs a state-approved CNA program with online coursework paired with in-person clinical instruction. It carries accreditation through the Council on Occupational Education. Drive time from Grand Junction to Delta runs close to 40 miles, which is manageable for students who only need to travel for skills days and clinicals.
Western Colorado Community College, now CMU Tech, runs a traditional in-person CNA program based in Grand Junction, structured as a six-week, five-credit course, with a class listed for fall 2026. CMU Tech, located on Blichmann Avenue, is state approved and offers evening class sections along with job placement assistance after graduation, which matters for students juggling daytime work or family obligations. Western Colorado Area Health Education Center and Larchwood Inns also appear as local CNA providers in Grand Junction, though their scheduling and program details are not as well documented as the college programs.
Working adults who cannot commit to a fixed weekday schedule often lean toward the Delta hybrid option, since the lecture portion can be completed on their own time. Students who want more built-in structure, direct instructor access, and a shorter overall timeline tend to prefer the in-person format at CMU Tech (formerly WCCC), especially with evening sections available for those working daytime jobs. Either path leads to the same state competency exam, so the right choice comes down to schedule flexibility rather than the quality of training itself.
This snapshot compares Grand Junction CNA wages with Colorado and national medians. Local figures are from May 2023; state and national medians are from May 2025. Local living costs are not shown here, but CNAs should compare wages with housing costs before enrolling.

Becoming a certified nursing assistant in Colorado involves a clear sequence of steps, and understanding each requirement upfront helps you plan your timeline and budget. The process moves from completing an approved training program through passing a state exam to finally appearing on the official registry.
Colorado requires candidates to finish a training program that meets or exceeds 75 total hours, including at least 16 hours of supervised clinical practice. Many programs exceed these minimums to better prepare students for the exam and real-world work. In Grand Junction, the Western Colorado Area Health Education Center offers 104 total hours (80 classroom plus 24 clinical), well above the state floor. Programs must appear on the Colorado Board of Nursing's approved list to qualify candidates for the certification exam.
To be eligible for the exam, you must clear both state (CBI) and federal (FBI) fingerprint-based background checks. Certain convictions involving abuse, neglect, theft, or controlled substances may count as CNA background check disqualifying offenses. Submit your background check materials as part of your initial application to the Board of Nursing.
Colorado uses the NNAAP exam administered by Credentia. The test has two parts: a written (or oral) knowledge section with 60 questions over 90 minutes, and a skills evaluation where you demonstrate five randomly selected competencies. The exam fee is approximately $145. You must pass both sections within 24 months of Credentia receiving your application, or you will need to reapply and pay new fees. Candidates who fail any component three times must repeat their training before attempting certification again.
Once you complete training, clear your background check, and pass both exam sections, the Board of Nursing (under DORA) adds your name to the Colorado Nurse Aide Registry. This listing is what employers verify before hiring; you can check your status with a CNA Registry Lookup. Colorado CNA License Renewal happens every 24 months and requires at least 8 hours of paid nursing assistant work during that period, plus a $25 renewal fee.
If you hold active CNA certification in another state, you can apply for reciprocity through the Colorado Board of Nursing. You will still need to pass the Colorado background check and meet any additional documentation requirements.
Tuition and total cost vary widely among Grand Junction area CNA programs. The figures below compare published totals, tuition, fees, and financial aid options where available. Some programs may be free through employer sponsorships or workforce grants; see the free and employer-sponsored classes section for details, and note that total cost often includes textbooks, uniforms, background checks, and other mandatory expenses.
| Program | Total Cost | Tuition | Fees | Financial Aid |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Western Colorado Area Health Education Center (WCAHEC) Certified Nurse Aid Training - Grand Junction | $1,425 | $1,425 | Included in tuition: $50 application fee, $55 background check, $145 certification exam, malpractice insurance, books, and scrubs | Not specified |
| Delta CNA Program - Delta, CO | $1,851 | Not itemized | Not specified | Not specified |
| Grand Junction CNA Program (CNA Guide listing, Program A) | $0 (free) | Not itemized | Not provided | Not specified |
| Colorado Mesa University, CMU Tech Nurse Aide Certificate - Grand Junction | Not published | Varies by residency, financial aid, and employer sponsorship | Not specified | Institutional financial aid and employer sponsorships may reduce cost; amounts not published |
| APL Med Academy CNA Classes - Grand Junction area | $1,200 | $1,200 | State exam fees separate: $50 written, $85 skills; no additional training fees mentioned | Not specified |
Grand Junction CNA programs generally require a minimum age, a background check, and health documentation before clinicals. The table below compares the stated prerequisites, background check requirements, immunization rules, and application deadline details for several programs serving the Grand Junction area. Because some providers publish rolling or cohort-based deadlines, contact the program directly for the next available start date.
| Program | Prerequisites | Background Check | Immunizations | Application Deadline |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CMU Tech Nurse Aide Program (Grand Junction) | Complete the CMU Tech application for Nurse Aide (Technical Certificate), request official high school transcripts or GED scores and any college transcripts, and be at least 16 years old by the start of NURA 101. | Complete an online background check through the CMU Tech background check website. | Two separate TB skin tests from a healthcare provider within the last year, completed 1 to 3 weeks apart, or a TB blood test; first TB test and result must be completed before registration. | Specific calendar deadline not listed in the available application document; Spring 2026 instructions are provided. |
| APL Med Academy CNA Classes (Grand Junction) | Government-issued state ID (driver's license, passport, military ID, or consular matricula) and a Social Security card. | Background check required for admission. | TB test, MMR, Varicella, and Hepatitis B (Hepatitis B during flu season only). | Specific deadline for next cohort not provided. |
| Western Colorado Area Health Education Center CNA Program (Grand Junction) | Submit completed CNA application with a $350.00 deposit and pay the $55.00 background check fee. | Payment of a $55.00 background check fee required as part of registration. | Proof of flu shot for classes with clinical times scheduled October through March, due by the start of class. | Health requirements due by start of class; specific calendar deadline not provided. |
| Larchwood Inns Rehabilitation and Skilled Nursing CNA Training (Grand Junction) | Must be at least 18 years old. | Must clear a criminal background check. | A report of immunization is required. | No specific deadline listed. |
| Statewide Colorado CNA Training Requirements (applied to Grand Junction programs) | At least 16 years old, physically capable of direct resident care, and able to read and write English. | State and FBI fingerprint background check required; convictions involving abuse, neglect, theft, or controlled substances may bar certification. | TB screening and current immunizations typically required before clinicals. | No application deadlines specified for individual programs. |
Grand Junction CNA programs are primarily in person, with evening cohorts at APL Med Academy, WCAHEC, and CMU Tech offering the most practical fit for working adults. CMU Tech also offers five-week intensive cohorts in Spring 2026 for students who want to move faster. No fully online CNA theory option or weekend cohort appeared in the available 2026 schedules.
| Program | Format | Schedule Options | Accelerated | Next Start Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| APL Med Academy CNA Program | In-person, on-campus | Day and evening cohorts Monday through Thursday, 9:00 AM to 1:00 PM and 5:00 PM to 9:00 PM | No explicit accelerated label; cohorts run about 4 to 5 weeks | 2026 starts: Jan 5, Feb 9, Mar 16, Apr 20, May 25, Jun 29, Aug 3, Sep 7, Oct 12 |
| Western Colorado Area Health Education Center CNA Training | In-person; classes at WCAHEC Grand Junction office and Family Health West in Fruita | Year-round evening classes Monday through Thursday, 5:00 PM to 9:00 PM; summer day classes offered, e.g., July 6 to 30 | No explicit accelerated label; courses run about 6 to 7 weeks | Evening 2026 starts: Jan 5, Feb 17, Mar 30, May 11, Jun 29, Aug 17; day dates TBD |
| CMU Tech Nurse Aide Certificate | In-person, on-campus; not offered online | Spring 2026: 11-week daytime class Jan 20 to Apr 11, Mon/Wed/Fri 12:00 to 2:00 PM; 5-week intensive evening theory Mon to Thu 4:30 to 8:30 PM plus clinical week | Yes, 5-week intensive cohorts | Jan 20, Feb 23, Apr 6, 2026 |
| IntelliTec College Nursing Assistant Program | Campus-based; online vs on-campus not specified | Nursing Assistant cohorts start approximately every four weeks; specific day/evening/weekend schedules not detailed | Not explicitly described; frequent starts suggest short blocks | Approximately every four weeks; specific 2026 dates not listed |
| Larchwood Inns CNA Program | Not specified; long-term care facility program | No schedule details provided | No information provided | No 2026 cohort dates listed |
Free CNA training means someone else pays your tuition, whether that is an employer who wants to hire you or a government program designed to help workers enter healthcare careers. In Grand Junction, both options exist, though availability shifts with funding cycles and employer needs.
Many nursing homes, hospitals, and home health agencies in the Grand Junction area offer CNA partnership programs that cover CNA training costs in exchange for a work commitment after certification. This arrangement typically requires you to work for the sponsoring facility for six months to a year following program completion. Some employers go further, offering paid training where you earn wages while completing your coursework and clinicals.
Local facilities that have historically participated in such programs include skilled nursing centers and assisted living communities. While specific 2026 sponsorship details vary by facility, contacting human resources departments directly at places like Larchwood Inns (2845 North 15th Street) or area hospitals remains the most reliable way to identify current opportunities. Ask specifically about training stipends, whether you receive pay during clinicals, and what happens if you leave employment early, as repayment clauses are common.
Colorado's Training to Career Pathways initiative can fully fund CNA training for eligible participants. If you are enrolled in Colorado Works, Employment First, ReHire Colorado, or CW STEP, you may qualify for job training at no cost. CNA certification is specifically listed among approved career pathways alongside programs like EMT, medical assistant, and phlebotomy.
The Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act also provides funding for workforce CNA training, typically administered through local workforce centers. Eligibility generally focuses on low-income individuals, dislocated workers, and those facing barriers to employment.
Be cautious about repayment clauses. If you leave an employer-sponsored position before completing your commitment period, you may owe some or all training costs back to the facility.
The following ranked list highlights the strongest CNA programs available to Grand Junction students, from the local CMU Tech option to Western Slope and Front Range alternatives. Each summary includes program format, time to completion, and admissions notes to help you compare.
Grand Junction, CO · ~$15,000/yr (est.)
Best for: Local students wanting hands-on training
Colorado Mesa University's Nurse Aide program is the only locally based option in this list, with classes held at the CMU Tech campus in Grand Junction. The five-week technical certificate offers day and evening cohorts year-round and includes hands-on clinical experience. The institution reports a graduation rate of 40.6 percent. This local setting makes it the most direct route for Grand Junction and Mesa County students.
Delta, CO · under $5,000/yr (est.)
Best for: Western Slope learners needing hybrid flexibility
Technical College of the Rockies in Delta is one of the closest Western Slope options to Grand Junction, and its Nurse Aide course includes online/hybrid and in-seat formats. The 127-hour, 6.5-credit program costs approximately $1,850 including books and testing fees. Net price after aid is about $3,800 for typical students, and the program is ACEN-accredited. That makes it a practical low-cost choice for Grand Junction-area learners who can manage travel to Delta.
Westminster, CO · $10,000 – $15,000/yr (est.)
Best for: First-time students prioritizing exam readiness
Front Range Community College's Nurse Aide Certificate is a five-credit program that can be completed in less than one semester at its Larimer or Westminster campuses. The college reports an institution-level graduation rate of 35.5 percent, and the program emphasizes hands-on skills labs and simulation. Grand Junction students would need to relocate or travel to the Front Range, but the structured format and scholarship options make it a strong choice for those open to Front Range training.
Aurora, CO · ~$23,000/yr (est.)
Pima Medical Institute-Aurora offers a Nursing Assistant/Nurse Aide certificate that takes about six weeks to complete. The program includes clinical externships and prepares students to take the CNA exam. The institution reports a graduation rate of 72.1 percent. This Aurora campus is not local to Grand Junction, but its short format may suit students willing to train on the Front Range.
Lakewood, CO · $5,000 – $10,000/yr (est.)
Red Rocks Community College in Lakewood offers a five-credit Nurse Aide certificate with campus-based instruction. The program requires placement scores or equivalent, plus background and health documentation. The institution reports a graduation rate of 32.0 percent. Grand Junction students should plan for Front Range travel or temporary housing.
Denver, CO · ~$22,000/yr (est.)
Pima Medical Institute's Denver campus offers a six-week Nursing Assistant/Nurse Aide certificate with hands-on labs and clinical training. The program requires a high school diploma or GED and offers financial aid options. The institution reports a graduation rate of 72.7 percent. Like the Aurora campus, this is a Front Range option rather than a local Western Slope program.
Greeley, CO · ~$11,000/yr (est.)
Aims Community College offers a Nurse Aide certificate at its Greeley and Fort Lupton campuses, with tuition starting around $520 for in-district students. The 5-credit, 5-6 week program includes a 30-hour clinical rotation and offers day, evening, and hybrid online options. The institution reports a graduation rate of 39.6 percent. Low in-district tuition and hybrid scheduling make it a budget-friendly alternative for motivated Colorado learners.
Lamar, CO · $5,000 – $10,000/yr (est.)
Lamar Community College's Nurse Aide certificate is a campus-based short-term program in eastern Colorado. The program emphasizes entry-level patient care skills and preparation for professional certification. The institution reports a graduation rate of 54.7 percent. Students from Grand Junction would need to relocate or travel a significant distance.
Denver, CO · ~$7,000/yr (est.)
Emily Griffith Technical College offers a part-time Nurse Assisting program lasting two to three months at its Denver campus. The program costs about $1,495 and includes daytime and evening options. The college does not report an institution-level graduation rate in this dataset, but the program is state-approved. Grand Junction students would be training in Denver.
Aurora, CO · ~$9,000/yr (est.)
Community College of Aurora offers a five-credit Nurse Aide certificate at its Aurora campus. The program is not eligible for federal financial aid, and students must complete clinical coursework. The institution reports a graduation rate of 33.5 percent. This is a Front Range option with limited savings for Western Slope learners.
Did you know some Grand Junction area CNA programs can be completed in as little as 2 to 4 weeks full time, according to CertPrepAcademy's 2026 Colorado training guide? Most national sources cite 4 to 12 weeks as typical, so ask each program directly about its exact schedule before enrolling.
CNA hiring in Grand Junction is running hot enough that most new certificate holders don't spend long on the job hunt, though published, program-specific placement rates for local CNA training are surprisingly hard to pin down. What is visible: roughly 640 CNAs worked in the Grand Junction area as of May 2023, and active listings from Community Hospital, St. Mary's Hospital, and staffing platforms like Switch , including Full-Time CNA Jobs in Grand Junction, CO , show steady, ongoing CNA job demand.
Both CMU Tech (formerly Western Colorado Community College)1 and the Western Colorado Area Health Education Center are state-approved CNA training providers that advertise job placement assistance and employer sponsorship. In practice, that typically means:
CMU also publishes a 96.7% job placement rate (five-year average, graduates employed within 12 months) for its Practical Nursing certificate.2 That figure is for the LPN track, not the CNA program, so treat it as a signal of the school's clinical placement pipeline rather than a CNA-specific number.
New CNAs in the area commonly move into settings that include hospitals (Community Hospital and St. Mary's are the two largest local employers, with posted CNA wages roughly $18 to $24 per hour3), skilled nursing and long-term care facilities, home health and agency work, assisted living, outpatient clinics, and dialysis centers, where hourly rates can climb higher for shift-pickup roles.4 A current Colorado CNA credential on the state registry is the baseline requirement almost every employer lists.
Because published outcomes are uneven, push each program for specifics before committing:
A program that can answer these clearly is worth more than one leaning on general claims about "placement support."