Your Guide to CNA Schools and Training in Harrisburg, PA

Compare Harrisburg-area CNA programs by cost, schedule, and requirements.

Reviewed by Editorial staffUpdated September 16, 202616 min read
CNA Schools in Harrisburg, PA | Compare CNA Programs

Key Points

  • Nearly 800 nursing assistant jobs are open across Harrisburg metro in 2026.
  • Pennsylvania requires supervised clinical hours, so fully online CNA training is unavailable.
  • No CNA program sits directly in Harrisburg: commutes can reach 90 minutes.

Harrisburg-area CNA programs differ by thousands of dollars in tuition, weeks in length, and by whether clinical hours happen in a hospital wing or a nursing home hallway. A candidate choosing between a 4 week accelerated cohort and an 8 week evening track is really choosing between lost income now and a paycheck sooner, since Pennsylvania sets no single price or pace for approved training.

That variation carries real stakes: every path still funnels toward the same 80 hour minimum and the same state competency exam, so the program you pick shapes your timeline far more than your eventual credential.

Jump straight to the program list →

CNA Jobs in Harrisburg: Who's Hiring and What the Role Looks Like

Harrisburg's healthcare labor market is tilted heavily in favor of CNA job seekers right now, with close to 800 open nursing assistant positions posted across the metro area in 2026.1 That volume reflects steady demand from hospital systems, skilled nursing facilities, and home health agencies that all compete for the same pool of credentialed aides.

Major Employers Hiring CNAs

Three large health systems anchor most of the hospital-level hiring:

  • UPMC Pinnacle Hospitals: The fourth-largest employer in Dauphin County and the single biggest source of CNA postings locally.1
  • Penn State Health: Ranked among the county's top ten employers. Its rehabilitation hospital and the Milton S. Hershey Medical Center (the county's second-largest employer overall) both list nursing assistant roles regularly.
  • Select Medical: Headquartered in the Harrisburg area, Select runs specialty hospitals and actively recruits CNAs at pay rates ranging from roughly $19.70 to $24.00 per hour.2

Beyond hospitals, skilled nursing and rehab centers such as Homeland Center, Spring Creek Rehabilitation, and Capitol Rehabilitation post openings consistently. Home health agencies like Aveanna Healthcare and Angels of Care Pediatric Home Health round out the picture for CNAs who prefer community-based or private duty CNA jobs.

What You Will Actually Do

Pennsylvania requires 80 hours of state-approved training before you can sit for the competency exam and join the Nurse Aide Registry. Once certified, your day-to-day tasks center on direct patient care performed under the supervision of a licensed nurse: assisting with bathing, mobility, vital-sign measurement, feeding, and documenting changes in a patient's condition. New graduates should know that CNAs in Pennsylvania do not administer medications or perform invasive procedures. Each facility further defines your exact task list based on its patient population and policies.

Connecting Demand to Training

With this many employers actively hiring, completing a state-approved program in or near Harrisburg positions you to land your first CNA job quickly. The Best CNA Classes in Pennsylvania in the following sections range from accelerated tracks to evening schedules, so you can match your program choice to the local job market's needs.

Can You Take CNA Classes Online? Hybrid Options Serving Harrisburg

If you have seen programs advertised as "online CNA classes," the reality in Pennsylvania is more nuanced than the marketing suggests. The state does not permit fully online CNA certification because every approved program must include supervised clinical hours completed in person at a healthcare facility.

What "Online" Actually Means for Pennsylvania CNA Training

Some Pennsylvania programs offer hybrid CNA programs where you complete classroom theory through online modules, then attend in-person sessions for skills labs and clinical rotations. This setup can help with scheduling flexibility, but you will still need to show up physically for a significant portion of your training. Expect to spend hands-on time practicing skills like vital sign measurement, patient transfers, and personal care in CNA training labs under direct instructor supervision before working with actual residents or patients.

Harrisburg-Area Options

HACC, Central Pennsylvania's Community College, and Dauphin County Technical School both offer CNA programs in the Harrisburg area. Whether either school currently structures its lecture component as online coursework is something to verify directly with their admissions offices, as program formats can change between enrollment cycles.

Other Pennsylvania Department of Education approved programs exist across the state, including Northampton Community College (a three-week, 120-hour program), Good Shepherd Rehabilitation, CareBridge Academy, and several community colleges. If you are open to traveling for clinical placements, these programs may also serve as options.

Setting Realistic Expectations

Even the most flexible hybrid program will require you to complete all clinical hours at an approved site under supervision. Plan your schedule around that requirement from the start, and confirm clinical placement locations before you enroll.

CNA Programs Within Commuting Distance of Harrisburg

A ten-minute drive to class feels nothing like a ninety-minute one, and that gap decides whether CNA training actually fits around a job or family schedule.

None of the programs in this dataset sit directly in Harrisburg or its closest suburbs like Carlisle, Mechanicsburg, Camp Hill, or Hershey. What is available instead is a spread of campus-based options across south-central and eastern Pennsylvania, including CNA Programs in Philadelphia, PA, that some Harrisburg-area students already commute to. All of them require in-person CNA clinical rotation hours, since Pennsylvania does not allow fully online CNA certification.

Closest of the group

  • Reading Area Community College (Reading): Campus-based, roughly an hour from Harrisburg, and its net price runs below the regional average among these schools.

Farther, but still doable as a single trip

  • Northampton Community College (Bethlehem): Campus-based; net price runs above the regional average.
  • Holy Family University (Philadelphia): Campus-based, six-week format; net price runs above the regional average.
  • Delaware County Community College (Media): Campus-based; net price runs below the regional average.
  • Westmoreland County Community College (Youngwood): Campus-based, west of Pittsburgh; net price runs below the regional average.
  • Greater Johnstown Career and Technology Center (Johnstown): Campus-based; net price runs above the regional average.
  • Health and Technology Training Institute (Philadelphia): Campus-based; pricing data for this program is not currently reported.

Before you commit to a drive

Treat this as a directory to check against a map, not a ranked shortlist. Driving times shift with traffic, exact addresses, and which Harrisburg neighborhood or workplace you're starting from, so pull up each school's actual location before assuming it fits your commute. A program with a lower price tag loses its appeal fast if the drive eats an hour each way, twice a day, for weeks of clinicals.

CNA Pay in the Harrisburg Metro: What Local Nursing Assistants Earn

What do certified nursing assistants actually take home in the Harrisburg area, and how does that compare to the rest of the state and the country?

Local Wage Context

The Bureau of Labor Statistics publishes detailed wage data for the Harrisburg-Carlisle metropolitan area, though the most recent nursing assistant figures for this specific metro are not yet available in published releases.1 Using national benchmarks as a reference point, nursing assistants earned a median annual wage of roughly $42,260 as of May 2025, with a mean hourly wage near $19 nationally.21 Pennsylvania wages for CNAs tend to track close to national medians, with CNA salary by state data showing urban areas like Harrisburg sometimes edge slightly higher due to competition among healthcare employers.

Harrisburg-area CNA job postings show an hourly range of $16.15 to $22.31, with a mean of $19.81, depending on the employer and shift.

Shift Differentials and Benefits

Base pay tells only part of the story. Many nursing homes, hospitals, and assisted living facilities in the region offer shift differentials, incentive shift pay, that add $1 to $3 per hour for evening, night, or weekend work. Some employers also provide sign-on bonuses, tuition reimbursement for further education, and health insurance, which can meaningfully increase total compensation.

Job Outlook

Nationally, the BLS projects 3 percent growth for nursing assistants and orderlies from 2025 to 2035, with about 203,300 openings expected annually over the decade.2 Harrisburg's aging population and concentration of long-term care facilities suggest steady local demand, reflecting broader CNA employment trends even as automation reshapes other healthcare roles. CNAs remain essential for hands-on patient care that technology cannot replicate.

For the most current Harrisburg-specific wages, check the BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics page for the Harrisburg-Carlisle metro area when updated figures are released.

Pennsylvania CNA Credentialing: Requirements, Exams, and Registry Steps

Use this checklist to move from training to the Pennsylvania Nurse Aide Registry.

  1. Meet the age requirement
    You must be at least 16 to sit for the Pennsylvania nurse aide competency exam. Some employers require 18, so confirm with your facility or program before enrolling.
  2. Complete state-approved training
    Pennsylvania does not require a high school diploma or GED for certification, but you must finish a Pennsylvania Department of Education-approved nurse aide training program. Programs typically include 80 hours of training with 37.5 hours of supervised clinical practice.
  3. Pass background checks
    You will need a Pennsylvania State Police criminal history report completed within the year before training, clear of prohibitive offenses. If you lived outside Pennsylvania for the past two years, an FBI report is also required.
  4. Complete health screenings
    Plan for a physical exam before training, a negative two-step Mantoux TB test, and proof you are free of communicable disease. A positive TB test may require a chest X-ray from within the past five years.
  5. Take the competency exam
    After finishing an approved program within the last 24 months, register for the Pennsylvania Nurse Aide Competency Examination through Credentia. Check the current Credentia/Pennsylvania handbook for the fee; state pages do not list an official testing fee.
  6. Get listed on the registry
    Passing the exam places you on the Pennsylvania Nurse Aide Registry.
  7. Renew by working
    Keep your registry status active by working at least one documented paid shift of eight consecutive hours in an approved facility every 24 months. If you go 24 months without that qualifying work, your registry status lapses.

Harrisburg CNA Schools Ranked: At-A-Glance

Below are the ranked nurse aide training programs serving Pennsylvania residents, with practical fit for Harrisburg-area learners. Each entry emphasizes affordability, clinical preparation, and a direct path to the Pennsylvania nurse aide registry. Use the tuition comparison and schedule flexibility sections below for detailed cost and format breakdowns.

Greater Johnstown Career and Technology Center

#1

Johnstown, PA · $14,000/yr (net price)

Best for: High school students seeking early CNA credential

This career and technology center blends high school health assistant training with an early nurse aide credential. Students practice in a high-tech simulation lab and complete clinical hours at long-term care sites, earning their CNA license during their senior year. In-state tuition and an institutional graduation rate are not reported in the source data.

ACEN accredited
  • ACEN accredited
  • High-tech SIM lab training
  • Clinical experience at long-term care facilities
  • CPR and First Aid certifications included
  • Eligible for PA SOAR articulation
  • Requires 2.5 GPA for high school students

Reading Area Community College

#2

Reading, PA · $5,000 – $10,000/yr

Hispanic-Serving Institution

Best for: Budget-conscious adults entering healthcare

Reading Area Community College offers a Pennsylvania Department of Education approved nurse aide certificate with classroom, lab, and clinical components. The program costs about $1,390, and scholarship support may reduce out-of-pocket expense. The college reports a 34 percent graduation rate and in-state tuition of $9,540.

ACEN accredited
  • Approved by Pennsylvania Department of Education
  • 42 classroom hours and 24 lab hours
  • 54 clinical hours at local facilities
  • Mae W. Langan Scholarship available
  • Total program cost $1,390
  • ACEN accredited

Northampton County Area Community College

#3

Bethlehem, PA · $12,000/yr (net price)

Hispanic-Serving Institution

Best for: Adult learners needing two campus locations

Northampton Community College runs a nurse aide program at its Southside and Pocono campuses. The program costs $1,899 and includes Basic Life Support training, with state exam fees billed separately. The institution reports a 24 percent graduation rate and in-state tuition of $7,800.

ACEN accredited
  • ACEN accredited
  • Includes Basic Life Support training
  • Fowler Family Southside Center and Pocono campus locations
  • PA residency and age 18 requirement
  • COVID-19 vaccination required
  • Scholarships and PA CareerLink funding possible

Holy Family University

#4

Philadelphia, PA · $13,000/yr (net price)

Holy Family University offers a nurse aide training program with clinical placements across Philadelphia and Bucks County. Tuition is under $2,500 and includes uniforms, books, and equipment. The university reports a 61 percent graduation rate and in-state tuition of $34,080.

  • In-person lectures, labs, and clinical rotations
  • Maximum 20 student cohorts
  • National certification preparation
  • Potential preferential entry to university nursing program
  • Minimum age 16

Westmoreland County Community College

#5

Youngwood, PA · $5,000 – $10,000/yr

Westmoreland County Community College combines classroom, lab, and clinical experience in its nurse aide program at the Youngwood campus. The program meets federal OBRA mandates and prepares students for the National Nurse Aide Assessment Program exam. In-state tuition is $8,400, and the institutional graduation rate is about 31 percent.

  • Meets federal OBRA mandates
  • Prepares for National Nurse Aide Assessment Program exam
  • Fall, spring, and summer start dates
  • Requires 80 percent exam score
  • Liability insurance and health forms required
  • Instructors approved by Pennsylvania Department of Education

Delaware County Community College

#6

Media, PA · $5,000 – $10,000/yr

Delaware County Community College delivers a nursing assistant program with didactic, simulation, and clinical components. Graduates qualify for the Pennsylvania Nurse Aide Registry, and the program includes American Red Cross certification. In-state tuition is $8,400, and the graduation rate is about 24 percent.

  • 48 didactic hours and 25 simulation lab hours
  • 60 clinical experience hours
  • Six total course credits
  • American Red Cross certification
  • Prepares for Pennsylvania Nurse Aide Registry
  • High school diploma required

Health and Technology Training Institute

#7

Philadelphia, PA · $37,000/yr

The Health and Technology Training Institute offers a nurse aide program in Center City Philadelphia and at a satellite site in Inglis House. Total costs are about $2,361 including tuition, books, supplies, and the state exam. In-state tuition and an institutional graduation rate are not reported in the source data.

  • Includes CPR certification
  • Total cost approximately $2,361
  • Center City campus and Inglis House satellite site
  • Free training possible for ages 17 to 24

Admission Requirements for Harrisburg CNA Programs: A Provider-By-Provider Guide

Admission requirements are the paperwork and eligibility checks a program requires before you can start class: proof of age, health clearances, CNA background check requirements, and sometimes a short interview or info session. In Harrisburg, these details differ at community colleges, technical schools, and facility-based training programs.

HACC and DCTS: Similar Screening, Different Residency Rules

Harrisburg Area Community College (HACC) accepts students starting at 16, does not require a high school diploma or GED for its noncredit aide certificate, and skips a formal entrance exam. You'll need a background check, a physical exam, and a two-step TB test (Mantoux or QuantiFERON-TB Gold) within the past year, plus flu and COVID vaccination documentation. No CPR card or prerequisite coursework is required, and there's no mandatory information session.

Dauphin County Technical School (DCTS) also skips the diploma/GED mandate but adds a basic Screening Questionnaire covering reading and math, along with a required interview or information session before enrollment. Background screening depends on how long you've lived in Pennsylvania: residents of two years or more use a standard state check, while newer residents need an additional FBI-level clearance. DCTS wants your physical, TB test (or chest X-ray), and paperwork submitted at least two weeks before the start date.

Homeland Center: Facility-Based Training

Homeland Center, a facility-based provider, requires an information session before you apply, similar to DCTS. No CPR certification or prior coursework is listed as a prerequisite, keeping the entry bar comparable to the school-based options despite the different training setting.

Confirm Directly With TLC Institute and Colonial Park

Detailed published requirements for TLC Institute and Colonial Park Care Center are limited, so prospective students should contact these providers directly to confirm current age minimums, screening steps, and whether an interview or info session is part of enrollment before submitting an application.

CNA Program Length and Schedule Flexibility: Day, Evening, and Accelerated Options

Harrisburg area CNA programs offer several scheduling paths. Day options can run about 18 class days, while evening options stretch closer to 8 weeks. A few HACC cohorts run in a roughly 4 week accelerated format, and the table below shows the latest available details.

ProgramLengthSchedule OptionsNext Start Date
HACC Nurse Aide Training (general day option)18 daysDay schedule; sample times 8:00 AM to 4:30 PM, clinical days 7:00 AM to 2:15 PMSeptember 21, 2026
HACC Nurse Aide Training, Maple Farm cohortApproximately 4 weeksMonday through Thursday, no Fridays; clinical dates June 25, 29, 30 and July 1, 2, 6June 8, 2026 to July 8, 2026
HACC Nurse Aide Training, Messiah Lifeways cohortNot specifiedMonday through Thursday; clinical dates August 18, 19, 20, 24, 25, 26July 30, 2026 to August 28, 2026
HACC-style Nurse Aide Training at York County Cerebral Palsy Home18 daysMonday through Thursday, no Fridays; clinical training December 2, 3, 7, 8, 9, 10November 11, 2026 to December 15, 2026
Dauphin County Technical School (DCTS) Nurse Aide Program121 hoursDaytime 17-day schedule; evening option Monday, Tuesday, Thursday 5:00 PM to 9:00 PM for 6 weeks, clinical Monday through Thursday 5:00 PM to 9:30 PM for about 2 weeksNot listed

Recent Articles