Key Points
- York County logged over 1,000 CNA job postings in a recent year.
- York-Hanover CNAs earn $44,530 median annually, about $21.41 hourly.
- Fully online CNA training is not allowed; clinical hours remain in person.
Compare York CNA programs by cost, schedule, and outcomes, including free options.

Six or more state-approved CNA programs currently operate within commuting distance of York, ranging from Harrisburg Area Community College's tuition-based track to hospital-sponsored programs that cover training costs in exchange for a work commitment and a clear path to land your first CNA job. Pennsylvania sets a minimum of 80 training hours before candidates sit for the Nurse Aide Competency Exam, but actual program length in York varies from four-week intensives to eight-week evening schedules.
That spread creates a real decision point: pay upfront for a faster private program, or wait for a free seat tied to employment. Cost, schedule, exam pass rates, and entry-level medical career salaries diverge enough between local options that comparing them side by side matters more than picking the first result.
York County's aging population keeps CNA hiring steady, with over 1,000 job postings logged in a recent year1 and roughly 1,470 nursing assistants currently working across the York-Hanover area. That volume tells prospective students this is not a market where certified graduates sit around waiting for callbacks.
WellSpan Health anchors the region's healthcare employment, with its York Hospital campus on South George Street posting acute care and rehab unit roles that typically run 72 hours biweekly on a 6:45 a.m. to 7:15 p.m. schedule, often with weekend and holiday rotation built in.2 WellSpan's VNA home health division also hires CNAs for in-home patient support, primarily in York County but sometimes extending into Adams, Franklin, Lancaster, or Lebanon counties depending on caseload.3
Genesis HealthCare operates a York facility hiring full-time, part-time, and PRN nursing assistants, with pay reported between roughly $19 and $30.80 an hour depending on shift and experience, a range that aligns with broader how much do CNAs make an hour data, though a current state-approved CNA credential is required before applying.4 Smaller employers, including Margaret E. Moul Home and Memorial White Rose Home Health, round out the local hiring landscape.
York graduates typically land in one of four settings: hospital units, skilled nursing and rehab facilities, assisted living communities, or home health agencies visiting patients directly. Each setting carries a different pace and schedule, so think about which environment fits your life before choosing a CNA training path.
Several York employers now fund CNA classes directly. Margaret E. Moul Home5 and Yorkview Nursing and Rehab both run employer-paid or work-while-you-train programs that lead straight into open shifts, a practical shortcut worth exploring alongside CNA training programs Pennsylvania.
Can you take CNA classes online in York, PA, or do you need to attend in person?
Pennsylvania does not permit fully online CNA training for state certification. A 2025 policy change allows approved programs to deliver the theory portion virtually, but hands-on lab practice and supervised clinical hours must still be completed at an approved clinical site. That means any program marketed as online CNA classes is a hybrid CNA program at best, and you should confirm it is a state-approved nurse aide training program before enrolling.
York students typically choose among flexible CNA class schedules with daytime, evening, weekend, and accelerated cohorts, though exact schedules vary by provider and admission cycle. Accelerated formats in Pennsylvania commonly run four to six weeks. Statewide examples include Holy Family University's six-week nurse aide program with day, evening, and weekend options; Germantown's four-week, 120-hour program with morning and evening sessions; and CareBridge Academy's 3.5- to 4-week daytime track with 41 clinical hours. Not every York-area program mirrors these schedules, so ask each school for its current calendar.
Online theory can create false confidence about flexibility. Clinical rotations are in person, and sites may be in York, Hanover, or surrounding areas. Before enrolling, ask where clinicals take place, whether the school assigns your site, and how far you will commute. Missing clinical hours can delay certification, so map this part of the schedule just as carefully as the classroom portion.
The table below compares active CNA programs within 30 miles of York where researched program details were available. Costs and schedules are based on 2026 listings from HACC, The CNA Guide, and the Pennsylvania Department of Education. Free or employer-sponsored options are noted in the cost column.
| Program | Location | Estimated Cost | Duration | Schedule | Admission Requirements |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| HACC Nurse Aide Training Program | HACC York Campus, Goodling Building Room 122, 2010 Pennsylvania Ave, York, PA 17404 | $1,875 | 120 hours (18.5 or 26.5 days, depending on class) | Monday through Friday; one 2025-2026 cohort runs 11/26/25 to 12/22/25 with designated clinical dates | Physical exam within 1 year; 2-step PPD within 1 year; Pennsylvania State Police background check within 1 year; FBI report if not a PA resident for previous 2 consecutive years; valid photo ID plus second ID with name and signature; documents due 3 weeks before class start |
| State-approved CNA training program (free option) | 2501 Catherine St. Suite 3, York, PA 17408 | Free | 97.5 hours | N/A | N/A |
| Short-term Nurse Aide Certificate Program | York, Pennsylvania (specific training site not named in listing) | $1,300 | 120 hours (4 weeks) | Day classes Monday through Thursday over 16 days for classroom and clinical training | Clear criminal background check and required health screenings; completion of state-approved CNA program; must pass National Nurse Aide Assessment Program (NNAAP) and be placed on PA Nurse Aide Registry |
| HACC Nurse Aide Training, York/Misericordia cohort | Classroom: HACC York Campus, Goodling Building Room 122; Clinical: Misericordia Nursing and Rehab Center, 998 S Russell St, York, PA 17402 | $1,750 | 120 hours | Monday through Friday; cohort runs 11/26/25 to 12/22/25, no class on 11/27 and 11/28; designated clinical dates in mid-December | All students must be fully COVID-19 vaccinated to participate in this cohort |
York-Hanover nursing assistants earn a median annual wage of $44,530, which works out to about $21.41 per hour on a standard full-time schedule of 2,080 hours per year. The table below shows local employment and wage percentiles from the latest available BLS data. Statewide Pennsylvania and U.S. median comparison figures were not included in this data slice, and projected job growth for the metro was not available. York's generally lower cost of living can make these wages go further than the same paycheck in a larger city.
| Metric | York-Hanover, PA metro |
|---|---|
| Total nursing assistant employment | 1,890 |
| Median annual wage | $44,530 |
| Median hourly wage equivalent | $21.41 |
| Mean annual wage | $43,740 |
| 25th percentile annual wage | $39,210 |
| 75th percentile annual wage | $46,220 |
Pennsylvania's Department of Labor and Industry projects nursing assistant jobs will grow 4.0% between 2022 and 2032, with roughly 11,232 openings each year statewide. That steady demand directly benefits York, where hospitals and long-term care facilities regularly need trained CNAs to fill vacancies.
Below are the top CNA programs serving York students, ranked by completion data, accreditation status, and program fit. Each school offers a campus-based Nurse Aide track that leads to Pennsylvania certification. Use the profiles below to compare costs, clinical hours, and scheduling for your situation.
Johnstown, PA · $14,000/yr (net price)
Best for: High school students maximizing college credit
Greater Johnstown Career and Technology Center combines a high school Health Assistant pathway with adult nurse aide training, giving students hands-on clinical practice in a high-tech SIM lab and a chance to earn a CNA license during their senior year. PA SOAR articulation can lead to free college credit at participating Pennsylvania colleges. The campus-based program is strong for York students who can commit to an in-person, structured schedule. Institution-wide net price is about $14,111; graduation rate and program-level earnings are not reported.
Reading, PA · $5,000 – $10,000/yr
Best for: Adult learners without a high school diploma
Reading Area Community College offers an affordable, ACEN-accredited 120-hour Nurse Aide program that does not require a high school diploma or GED for admission. The $1,390 total cost and Mae W. Langan Scholarship make it one of the lowest-barrier options on this list for York adult learners. Training is campus-based with 42 classroom, 24 lab, and 54 clinical hours. Institution-wide graduation rate is 34 percent and average net price after aid is about $9,228; program-level earnings are not yet published.
Bethlehem, PA · $12,000/yr (net price)
Best for: Working adults needing evening flexibility
Northampton Community College prepares students for the Pennsylvania CNA exam through a 120-hour course combining classroom, lab, and clinical instruction. Tuition is $1,899 and includes Basic Life Support training, with additional fees for requirements and the state exam. Evening cohorts at the Pocono campus offer flexibility for working York-area students. Institution-wide graduation rate is 24 percent and average net price after aid is about $12,119; program-level earnings are not yet available.
Philadelphia, PA · $13,000/yr (net price)
Holy Family University's Nurse Aide Training Program offers an accelerated six-week in-person format with tuition under $2,500, cohort sizes capped at 20, and clinical sites across Philadelphia and Bucks County. Recent scheduling now includes 4-, 7-, and 15-week day, evening, and weekend options, which broadens access for York commuters. Institution-wide graduation rate is 61 percent and average net price after aid is about $13,143; program-level earnings and debt metrics are not reported. Successful completers may receive preference for Holy Family's nursing program.
Youngwood, PA · $5,000 – $10,000/yr
Westmoreland County Community College delivers a 141.5-hour Nurse Aide program across 8 to 9 weeks on its Youngwood campus, with 85.5 hours of lecture and lab plus 56 hours of clinical experience. The program meets federal OBRA mandates and prepares students for the National Nurse Aide Assessment Program exam. Institution-wide graduation rate is 31 percent and average net price after aid is about $5,167, the lowest among this list; program-level earnings are not yet available.
Media, PA · $5,000 – $10,000/yr
Delaware County Community College offers a 133-hour Excellence in Care Nursing Assistant Program at multiple campuses, including Marple, Downingtown, and Pennocks Bridge, which may be more accessible for York residents than the Media location. The program carries six college credits and aligns with the American Red Cross or Credentia exam for registry placement. Institution-wide graduation rate is 24 percent and average net price after aid is about $6,576; program-level earnings are not yet available.
Philadelphia, PA · $37,000/yr
Health and Technology Training Institute in Philadelphia provides a 152-hour campus-based Nurse Aide Program with classroom, lab, and clinical training plus CPR certification. Total cost is approximately $2,361 including tuition, books, supplies, and the state exam fee. No institution-wide graduation rate is published; average net price is about $37,010, but the CNA program's flat $2,000 tuition is the relevant figure for most students. Program-level earnings are not yet reported.
Before you apply, use this quick checklist to gather the basics. Requirements vary by school and clinical site, so confirm details with each program.