CNA Schools and Training Programs in New York City

Compare NYC CNA schools, explore free and accelerated options, and find the fastest path to certification.

By Bryce HallReviewed by Editorial staffUpdated September 16, 202617 min read
CNA Schools in New York City, NY | Classes & Training

Key Points

  • NYC hospital networks and nursing homes are actively hiring CNAs now.
  • New York approves only hybrid CNA training with in-person clinical hours.
  • Total CNA training costs in NYC run $800 to $2,500 after hidden fees.

Nursing homes and hospitals across the five boroughs are posting certified nursing assistant openings faster than local programs can graduate candidates, with some facilities offering sign-on incentives for day and evening shifts. A New York State-approved CNA course still requires a minimum of 100 hours split between classroom instruction and supervised clinical practice, and most students finish in four to eight weeks depending on the CNA program length and schedule they choose.

The real tension for New Yorkers isn't whether the job exists; it's whether a given program's price tag, seat availability, and pass rate justify the time off work. CNA training NYC costs and formats vary sharply between boroughs and even between campuses of the same institution.

Jump straight to the program list →

Where New York City CNAs Work: Hospital Systems and Long-Term Care Hiring

Every major hospital network in New York City is hiring certified nursing assistants right now, and that demand extends well past hospital walls into nursing homes, rehab centers, and home care agencies.

Hospital Systems and Health Networks

NYC Health + Hospitals, the city's public system, lists CNA and patient care technician openings systemwide, including post-acute and long-term care units.1 NewYork-Presbyterian has run active nursing assistant recruiting, including an interview event in August 2026.2 Mount Sinai posts nursing assistant roles across its network, with Mount Sinai Brooklyn advertising hourly pay in the mid-$25 to nearly $27 range, a range also tracked in the CNA Salary Guide.3 Montefiore and NYU Langone round out the borough's biggest employers, both routinely cycling CNA and PCT vacancies through their career sites.2 BronxCare Health System held a CNA and PCT job fair in May 2026 in partnership with Workforce1, the city's workforce development program, a rare direct example of a CNA training partnership connecting job seekers to hospital openings.4

Nursing Homes and Commuting Metros

Long-term care facilities like MJHS Menorah Center and St. Mary's Wilkinson Nursing Home offer sign-on bonuses reaching $1,200 to $2,000 for day and evening CNA shifts.6 Long Island Care Center in Flushing hires across all shifts starting around $20 an hour.7 Many students also train or work in nearby metros where costs run lower and openings are steady: Yonkers, White Plains, Newark, Jersey City, and Hempstead.

Scope of Practice

After completing CNA training, New York CNAs perform delegated nursing tasks such as bathing, mobility assistance, vital signs, and feeding under RN or LPN supervision. Medication administration is never part of the role.

Online and Hybrid CNA Classes Serving New York City Students

New York State does not approve fully online CNA programs; every approved training option must include an in-person clinical component. The hybrid format, where theory coursework happens online and clinical hours are completed at a New York City site, is the closest option to online CNA classes. Below are several hybrid programs currently serving NYC students.

ProgramDelivery FormatTypical LengthClinical ComponentBest-Fit Student
CCNY CNA Hybrid ProgramHybrid: 122.5 hours online plus 30 hours in person130 hours30-hour clinical internship held in person in New York CityStudents who want a large online component with NYC-based clinicals
Lehman College CNA ProgramHybrid: online academic instruction plus hands-on clinical training4 weeks30-hour clinical training/rotationStudents seeking a short, fast-paced hybrid option in the Bronx
Brooklyn Hybrid CNA Training OptionHybrid: online coursework plus in-person clinicalsTotal hours not published in available data; clinicals may be scheduled weekdays, evenings, or weekends32 hours of supervised clinical experienceStudents needing flexible clinical scheduling in Brooklyn
Queensborough Community College Hybrid CNA OptionHybrid CNA trainingNot published in available data30 clinical hoursQueens-based students looking for a community-college hybrid option

CNA Programs Within Commuting Distance of New York City

Sometimes the best CNA program for a New Yorker isn't in New York City at all. If you're chasing lower tuition, a specific start date, or a schedule the city schools don't offer, the approved programs just outside the five boroughs are worth a serious look. Here are the state-approved options within reasonable commuting distance, drawn from the New York State Education Department's active nurse aide list.

Westchester County Options

  • Westchester Community College (Ossining, NY): State-approved since 2002, currently approved through April 2027.1 Delivered in person.2 Ossining sits on the Metro-North Hudson Line, making it a direct ride from Grand Central for students already commuting into Midtown.
  • Westchester Educational Opportunity Center (Yonkers, NY): One of the longer-running approved programs in the region (initial approval 1989, current approval through June 2028).1 Yonkers is reachable by Metro-North and local bus, and it's the closest Westchester option for students in the Bronx and northern Manhattan.

Long Island Options

  • Nassau Community College (Garden City, NY): State-approved, with third-party listings citing an 11-week program length (confirm directly with the school).3 Garden City is served by the LIRR plus NICE bus connections, a realistic commute from Queens or Brooklyn.
  • Access Careers (Islandia, NY): Offers a NYS-approved Nurse Assisting program on its Nassau/Suffolk campus.4 Islandia is deeper into Suffolk County, so this option makes more sense for eastern Queens or Nassau residents than for Manhattan commuters.

A note on New Jersey: CNA programs in Newark, Jersey City, and other North Jersey cities are approved by the New Jersey Department of Health, not New York, so New York approval status doesn't apply. If you plan to work in New York, verify reciprocity before enrolling across state lines.

How Do CNA Wages Vary by Employer Type?

New York City does not publish CNA wages broken out separately by hospital, nursing home, and home health employer type. The chart below uses the latest available national industry benchmarks alongside the New York City metro all-employer average so you can see the general pattern. Hospital data is from 2022, while nursing home, home health, and metro figures are from 2023.

National CNA annual means by employer type from $35,640 to $38,730, with NYC metro overall at $47,450 in 2023.

Salary Snapshot: NYC's CNA Pay Reality

New York CNA Certification: Requirements, Hours, and Exam

Certification in New York is registry-based, not a separate license. Here is the current route to becoming a CNA in New York City.

  1. Complete a state-approved training program
    New York State Department of Health (NYSDOH)-approved nursing home aide programs require at least 100 hours: 70 hours of classroom/skills lab and 30 hours of supervised clinical. Many NYC programs run 130 hours (100 classroom plus 30 clinical), and NYSED-approved adult programs require 120 hours. A 2026 proposal to lower the state minimum to 75 hours was contested and has not been adopted, so the current minimum remains 100 hours.
  2. Pass the Prometric competency exam
    You must pass the Prometric Nursing Home Nurse Aide Competency Examination, which includes a 60-question written exam and a clinical skills test covering five skills. Bring two forms of ID on test day.
  3. Complete a background check and clinical clearances
    A Criminal History Record Check (CHRC) is required. Programs and clinical sites typically also require a physical and immunization records before clinical placement, though these are not always listed as separate statewide certification steps.
  4. Apply to the New York State Nurse Aide Registry
    After training, exam, and background check, your name is placed on the registry. Renewal and reciprocity for out-of-state CNAs are handled through the registry; contact the New York State Department of Health for current transfer requirements. To find the official approved program list, check the New York State Education Department's nursing programs listings.

The True Cost of CNA Training in NYC: Tuition and Hidden Fees

CNA programs in New York City often advertise a single tuition figure, but the real cost includes several required items that may be paid separately. Typical programs range from $800 to $2,500 when key non-tuition expenses are included. Use the table below to compare the main cost components before you enroll.

Cost ComponentTypical RangeWhat It Covers
Tuition$500 to $2,000 (tuition only); full program often $800 to $2,500Core nurse aide training over 6 to 12 weeks. At CCNY, the $1,475 tuition plus $25 registration fee ($1,500 total) does not include textbooks, medical exam, uniform, CPR, or certification exam fee.
Registration or application fee$25 to $40Nonrefundable application or registration fee charged by the school; about $40 for many programs and $25 at CCNY.
Uniforms or scrubs$0 to $150Program-required clinical uniform, typically navy scrubs, for skills lab and clinical rotations. Some programs include scrubs.
Textbooks$65 to $72Primary CNA or nursing assistant textbook, such as Mosby's Textbook for Nursing Assistants, used for classroom and exam preparation.
Workbooks$21 to $35Companion CNA skills and practice workbook used alongside the main textbook.
Stethoscope and blood pressure cuff$10 to $30Personal stethoscope and/or blood pressure cuff required for vital-sign practice in lab and sometimes clinical use.
Clinical shoesAbout $75Closed-toe, non-mesh clinical shoes required for safety and dress code during clinical rotations.
Watch with second handAbout $25Analog or digital watch with second hand needed to time pulse, respirations, and other skills.
Background check$50 to $75Criminal background screening commonly required before clinical placement or exam eligibility.
Health screening$50 to $150 depending on insurancePre-clinical physical examination and tuberculosis test required to document fitness for patient care.
CPR certification$25 to $65 when not bundledCompletion of an approved CPR course and card, when the program requires CPR but does not include it in tuition.
Prometric nurse aide exam$115 for initial written and skills; $135 for oral and skills; retakes $57 to $68 per sectionRegistration for the written knowledge test and clinical skills performance test required for New York CNA certification. Oral and retake options cost extra.
Financial aid optionsVaries by eligibilityPell grants, WIOA funding, employer sponsorship, and payment plans may reduce out-of-pocket costs. Some grant-funded or employer-sponsored programs can be free.

Ranked: Top CNA Programs Serving New York City

Below are the top CNA programs serving New York City students right now, from free workforce pipelines in the Bronx to hybrid certificate tracks in Manhattan and Queens.

CUNY Borough of Manhattan Community College

#1

New York, NY · ~$5,000/yr (est.)

Hispanic-Serving Institution

Best for: Manhattan residents needing in-person CNA prep

CUNY Borough of Manhattan Community College runs its nursing assistant preparation through the Manhattan Educational Opportunity Center, a free career-training pipeline in Upper Manhattan. The campus-based program includes CPR certification and prepares students for the New York State Certified Nurse Aide exam. BMCC's state approval window runs through February 2028, making it a current option for Manhattan students. Program-level Prometric pass rates are not publicly disclosed.

  • Fully in-person training format
  • Prepares for the New York State CNA exam
  • Includes CPR certification
  • High school diploma or equivalent required
  • TABE test scores required for admission
  • Program-level Prometric pass rate not disclosed

CUNY Hostos Community College

#2

Bronx, NY · ~$5,000/yr (est.)

Hispanic-Serving Institution

Best for: Bronx residents seeking workforce pipeline support

CUNY Hostos Community College in the Bronx offers its CNA training through the free Hostos Allied Health Career Pipeline Program, supported by HPOG funding and career services. The campus-based program emphasizes hands-on patient care and connects students to Bronx and Upper Manhattan workforce partnerships. Hostos does not publicly disclose a program-level Prometric pass rate.

  • Campus-based program in the Bronx
  • Part of Continuing Education and Workforce Development
  • Hands-on patient care training
  • Tuition assistance available
  • High school diploma or equivalent required
  • Background checks and health screenings may apply
  • Program-level Prometric pass rate not disclosed

CUNY City College

#3

New York, NY · ~$4,000/yr (est.)

Hispanic-Serving Institution

Best for: Working adults needing hybrid schedule flexibility

CUNY City College offers a hybrid CNA program in Manhattan that combines 122.5 hours of online instruction with a 30-hour clinical internship in a nursing home. Approved by the New York State Education Department, the program carries a total cost of $1,260 for tuition and registration, though books, medical clearance, uniforms, and exam fees are extra. City College does not publicly disclose a program-level Prometric pass rate.

  • Hybrid online and in-person format
  • 152.5 total program hours
  • 30-hour clinical internship in a nursing home
  • Approved by New York State Education Department
  • Tuition: $1,235 plus $25 registration fee
  • High school diploma, GED, or HSE required
  • Minimum age 18 and U.S. work authorization
  • Program-level Prometric pass rate not disclosed

CUNY Lehman College

#4

Bronx, NY · $3,000/yr (est. net price)

Hispanic-Serving Institution

CUNY Lehman College in the Bronx delivers a New York State-approved hybrid CNA program with online evening classes and weekday or weekend clinical rotations. The program includes an NYS certification exam voucher and tuition coverage for the exam and clinicals, with scholarships and Workforce1 vouchers available. Lehman recently received $149,000 in capital funding to modernize its CNA training lab at CUNY on the Concourse. Program-level Prometric pass rates are not publicly disclosed.

  • Hybrid online and campus format
  • 97 hours didactic instruction
  • 30 hours clinical rotation
  • Includes NYS certification exam voucher
  • Evening online classes available
  • Weekday or weekend clinical rotations
  • ASSET scholarship and Workforce1 vouchers accepted
  • Program-level Prometric pass rate not disclosed

CUNY Queensborough Community College

#5

Bayside, NY · $4,000/yr (est. net price)

Hispanic-Serving Institution

CUNY Queensborough Community College in Bayside, Queens offers a 120-hour NYS-approved CNA track with a hybrid online and in-person format and multiple schedule options. The program includes a clinical externship and prepares students for the NYS certification exam. Queensborough students in 2026 must also complete New York's Affirming Care for Older LGBTQIA+ Individuals Training module. Program-level Prometric pass rates are not publicly disclosed.

  • 120 total training hours
  • Hybrid online and in-person format
  • Multiple schedule options
  • Clinical externship included
  • Prepares for NYS certification exam
  • High school diploma or GED required
  • CPR certification required
  • Program-level Prometric pass rate not disclosed

Mildred Elley School-Albany Campus

#6

Albany, NY · ~$24,000/yr (est.)

Nurse Aide Training (CNA) — On-CampusVisit Website

Rockland Community College

#7

Suffern, NY · ~$11,000/yr (est.)

Certified Nurse Aide Training Program — On-CampusVisit Website
Certified Nurse Aide Training Program — HybridVisit Website

Fulton-Montgomery Community College

#8

Johnstown, NY · $6,000 – $7,000/yr (est.)

Certified Nursing Assistant — On-CampusVisit Website
Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA)/Home Health Aide (HHA) — On-CampusVisit Website

Mohawk Valley Community College

#9

Utica, NY · ~$9,000/yr (est.)

Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA) — On-CampusVisit Website

SUNY Westchester Community College

#10

Valhalla, NY · $6,000 – $12,000/yr (est.)

Certified Nursing Assistant — On-CampusVisit Website
Certified Nurse Aide/Home Health Aide (CNA/HHA) — On-CampusVisit Website
The cheapest program is never the cheapest if it hides clinical supply fees, uniform charges, and retake costs that double your bill. Pick the school that publishes every dollar upfront and proves its graduates pass the competency exam and land jobs.
cnaclasses.org editorial guidance

Frequently Asked Questions About CNA Classes in NYC

These are the most common questions prospective students ask when comparing CNA classes in New York City. The answers below reflect New York's current training and certification rules for 2026. Always confirm details with the program and the New York State Department of Health before enrolling.

  1. How long does it take to become a CNA in New York City?

    Most NYC programs take 4 to 12 weeks from first class to registry listing, depending on scheduling. State-approved CNA Classes New York require 100 clock hours: 70 classroom hours and 30 clinical hours. Adult nurse aide training programs commonly run about 120 total hours, while secondary programs are longer at 432 hours. Exam scheduling and fingerprint review can add a few weeks.

  2. Are there free CNA classes in NYC for adults without healthcare experience?

    Yes. Free options exist across New York, including 65 tuition-free programs statewide and employer-sponsored training. Some nursing homes and hospitals pay trainees $13 to $16 per hour during the program and hire directly after you pass the Prometric exam. Most programs allow you to become a CNA with no experience, but many ask for a high school diploma or GED and minimum age 16 or 17.

  3. Can you take CNA classes online in New York state?

    No fully online cna programs qualify for the Prometric exam because New York requires in-person clinical hours. Hybrid programs exist, but you must complete the 30 clinical hours in person at an approved site. Only state-approved programs with in-person clinicals meet NYSDOH requirements, so verify approval before paying for any online coursework.

  4. Do NYC CNA programs publish Prometric pass rates?

    New York reports a statewide first-time pass rate of 78% for CNA candidates, but NYSDOH and Prometric do not publish numerical cna program pass rates for individual programs. That means you cannot reliably compare schools by pass rate. Instead, confirm the program is approved, ask about instructor qualifications, total cost, and job placement support, and request recent student outcome data directly from the school.

Recent Articles