Key Points
- Employer sponsorship can eliminate upfront tuition costs.
- The state's certification process follows a five-step MDH pathway.
- The Twin Cities offers the broadest choice of CNA programs.
Compare state-approved programs, costs, and flexible schedules to jumpstart your career as a certified nursing assistant in Minnesota.

Minnesota's population of adults aged 65 and older is projected to nearly double by 2030, and long-term care facilities across the state are already competing for qualified nursing assistants. That demand gives new CNAs leverage, but raises a practical question: how quickly can you complete training, and what will it cost?
State-approved programs require at least 75 instructional hours; some accelerated options finish in as little as three weeks. Tuition ranges from free, through employer-sponsored programs, to several hundred dollars at community colleges.
The tension most prospective students face is speed versus cost. A faster program may mean higher out-of-pocket expense, while a free employer-sponsored option may lock you into a specific facility. Minnesota's labor market is tight enough that most completers find work quickly, but wages and advancement opportunities vary considerably by region.
These ten Minnesota colleges stand out for state-approved CNA training tied to strong student outcomes. Each entry pairs graduation and net price data with practical program features, so you can weigh affordability, location, and training format side by side.
Willmar, MN · ~$10,000/yr (est.)
Best for: Rural learners prioritizing simulation-based practice
Ridgewater College delivers a five-week Nursing Assistant program at its Hutchinson and Willmar campuses. Students train in simulation labs and real clinical settings with small class sizes and multiple start dates each year. The program is approved by the Minnesota Department of Health and emphasizes basic nursing skills, patient rights, and restorative services.
Fergus Falls, MN · ~$13,000/yr (est.)
Best for: Budget-focused students across northwest Minnesota
Minnesota State Community and Technical College offers a 77-hour Nursing Assistant course through its Workforce Development Solutions division. The program focuses on basic patient care and preparation for the state registry exam, with low tuition and many students qualifying for tuition-free options. M State works with local employers on financial assistance and career placement.
Saint Cloud, MN · ~$10,000/yr (est.)
Best for: Saint Cloud career changers planning practical nursing
St. Cloud Technical and Community College provides an 80-hour Certified Nursing Assistant training that meets state requirements. The course combines classroom theory, lab practice, and supervised clinical work, and students can take the certification exam on campus. It also serves as a prerequisite for the college's Practical Nursing program.
Alexandria, MN · $14,000/yr (est. net price)
Alexandria Technical & Community College offers an 84-hour, three-credit Nursing Assistant course that meets Minnesota Department of Health standards. The four-week program includes supervised lab and long-term care clinical experience and requires full attendance. It serves as a prerequisite for the Practical Nursing program at ATCC.
Austin, MN · $7,000/yr (est. net price)
Riverland Community College's Nursing Assistant certificate blends classroom theory with hands-on lab training in a four-week format. Students complete four credits and can start in fall, spring, or summer at Albert Lea, Austin, or Owatonna. The program prepares learners for the Minnesota Nursing Assistant Competency Exam and feeds into Riverland's nursing degree.
Brooklyn Park, MN · ~$10,000/yr (est.)
Hennepin Technical College offers a hybrid Nursing Assistant/Home Health Aide certificate at its Brooklyn Park and Eden Prairie campuses. The program combines online learning with in-person skills and clinical hours, meeting Minnesota's 75-hour requirement. It leads to CNA certification and is a prerequisite for the Practical Nursing program. WIOA workforce services may help eligible students.
Anoka, MN · $17,000/yr (est. net price)
Anoka Technical College provides a Nursing Assistant/Home Health Aide certificate with hands-on training in basic nursing, personal care, and restorative services. Students learn in supervised labs and clinical settings, meeting federal and Minnesota Board of Nursing requirements. The program has fall, spring, and summer starts and prepares graduates for long-term care, hospital, and home health roles.
Thief River Falls, MN · ~$14,000/yr (est.)
Northland Community and Technical College offers a three-credit Nursing Assistant certificate at its East Grand Forks and Thief River Falls campuses. The program includes lectures, lab demonstrations, hands-on skill practice, and real-world clinical experience. It serves as a prerequisite for the Practical Nursing program.
Bemidji, MN · ~$11,000/yr (est.)
Northwest Technical College's three-credit Nursing Assistant course prepares students for state certification and serves as a state-approved testing site. The program is required for entry into the college's nursing programs, offering hands-on skills training for hospital, long-term care, and clinic roles. It is based in Bemidji and supports northern Minnesota healthcare pathways.
Hibbing, MN · ~$10,000/yr (est.)
Minnesota North College offers a Nursing Assistant (CNA) to Home Health Aide certificate with campus-based training and direct clinical experience. Students can register through E-Services with no additional application requirements beyond general college admission. The program provides entry-level healthcare skills with an option for financial aid through college resources.
Minnesota sets a clear, five-step path to becoming a Certified Nursing Assistant, and every step is governed by the Minnesota Department of Health (MDH). Knowing exactly what to expect keeps you from losing time or money to avoidable missteps.
You must be at least 16 years old to enroll in a Minnesota CNA program. Before clinical rotations begin, expect to complete a DHS Background Study with fingerprinting. A disqualifying criminal record can block placement in facilities that serve vulnerable adults, so address anything on your record early. You will also need to show current immunizations and a negative TB test. A physical exam is not required, and CPR certification, while useful, is not mandated for the credential itself.
Only MDH-approved programs count toward state certification. You can find CNA programs at community colleges, nursing homes, and healthcare training centers. Some programs run 75 hours (the state minimum), while others go up to 128 hours for a more thorough preparation.1 Choosing a longer program is not a disadvantage; graduates often feel more confident heading into the skills exam.
The 75-hour minimum breaks down into at least 16 hours of supervised clinical practice, with the remainder covering classroom instruction. Those clinical hours take place in a real care setting, giving you hands-on experience with residents before you sit for any exam.
Minnesota uses the MN-NACE, administered by Headmaster/D&S Diversified Technologies rather than the national Pearson VUE system. The knowledge portion consists of 70 questions, and you need a score of at least 74% to pass. The skills portion requires 80%. You have up to three attempts within a 24-month window. Candidates who fail one portion can retake only that section, which is a relief if you sail through the written test but need another shot at skills (or vice versa).
Once you pass both portions of the exam, your name is automatically added to the Minnesota Nursing Assistant Registry at no charge. Employers verify credentials through this registry, so there is nothing you need to file yourself. To stay active, you must complete at least eight hours of paid nursing assistant work every 24 months. Letting that lapse means your certification goes inactive, though a challenge exam pathway exists for those returning after a gap.
CNA training in Minnesota is one of the more affordable ways to enter healthcare, and the range of payment options has expanded considerably in recent years. Knowing what you’ll actually spend before you enroll helps you choose a program that fits your budget rather than one that stretches it.
Most Minnesota CNA programs fall somewhere between $750 and $1,8001 when you add up every line item. That total usually includes tuition, registration fees, a textbook or two, a set of scrubs, CPR certification, and the state exam fee. The exam itself runs between $250 and $2651 depending on the testing provider, so budget for that separately if your school does not bundle it.
A few specific examples give a clearer picture of what to expect:
Private training schools tend to land between $875 and $2,1501 depending on location and program length.
Community and technical colleges generally offer the lowest tuition, often because they receive state funding that offsets costs. Private career schools and independent training academies tend to charge more, but some offer evening or weekend schedules that work better for students who are already employed.
The key question is not just the sticker price but what is included. A program charging $1,200 that bundles the exam, scrubs, and CPR training may actually cost less out of pocket than a $900 program that bills each item separately.
If tuition feels out of reach, several paths can reduce or eliminate the cost entirely.
Employer-sponsored training is one of the most straightforward routes. Many nursing homes and long-term care facilities across Minnesota will train you at no cost in exchange for a commitment to work for them after certification. You earn wages during the training period, which means you are building your resume and covering living expenses at the same time.
The Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act, commonly known as WIOA, provides federal funding for eligible students pursuing in-demand careers, and CNA training qualifies. Eligibility is based on income, employment status, and other factors, so contacting your local workforce center early in the process gives you the most time to complete the application before a program start date arrives.
Lake Superior College illustrates the depth of financial aid some schools coordinate.2 Students there can apply for Workforce Development Scholarships, the American Indian Scholars Program, the Minnesota Indian Scholarship, funding through Duluth Workforce Development, and support from the Northeast Minnesota Office of Job Training, in addition to standard WIOA funding.
For students who do not qualify for WIOA, many programs accept federal financial aid, and a number of hospitals and home health agencies offer tuition reimbursement for employees pursuing CNA credentials. Starting a job search before enrollment, rather than after, can sometimes turn training into a benefit rather than an expense.
Minnesota mandates at least 75 hours of instruction, including 16 hours of clinical work, for nurse aide training programs, but the fastest accelerated options compress that requirement into just three weeks. If you need to start earning quickly, these approved programs deliver the same state-required competencies on a shorter timeline, often by blending online theory with concentrated hands-on clinical sessions.
| Program Name | Format | Duration | Clinical Hours | Est. Total Cost |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nurse Aide Training Program (University of Northwestern, St. Paul) | Hybrid | 4 weeks | 16 hours | $650 |
| Nurse Aide - Accelerated Cohort (Prime Time Medical Training) | Hybrid | 3 weeks | 32 hours | $1,450 |
| Minnesota Nurse Assistant & Home Health Aide course (Accelerated School of Nursing Assistant) | Not specified | 3 weeks | Not specified | $925 |
| Nursing Assistant (Alexandria Technical & Community College) | On-campus | 4 weeks | Not specified | Not listed |
All four programs run four weeks or less, and each holds state approval from the Minnesota Department of Health (MDH). The shortest are the three-week cohorts at Nurse Aide (Accelerated Cohort) at Prime Time Medical Training and the Minnesota Nurse Assistant & Home Health Aide course at the Accelerated School of Nursing Assistant (ASNA). Prime Time's course doubles the minimum clinical hours to 32, offering extra bedside practice during the intensive session. ASNA's cost of $925 covers both nurse assistant and home health aide competencies in one push.
Accelerated classes pack the same 75-hour curriculum into fewer calendar days. That typically means longer daily sessions, fewer days off, and an expectation that you'll absorb material quickly. The tradeoff is faster entry to the workforce and, often, a lower total price. The University of Northwestern's Nurse Aide Training Program provides CNA classes in St. Paul and costs $650 for four weeks, making it one of the most affordable quick-start routes.
Programs labeled "hybrid" move lecture and theory online, so you only travel to campus for skills practice and clinical rotations. University of Northwestern and Prime Time Medical Training both use this model. You learn anatomy, infection control, and resident rights through self-paced online modules, then meet in person for the mandatory clinical hours. Alexandria Technical & Community College, in contrast, delivers everything on campus; its four-week schedule still qualifies as accelerated but demands your daily physical presence.2 When online theory isn't available, consider how commute time affects your overall schedule.
Before enrolling, confirm with the school that a session's start date, location, and clinical site placement work for you. All listed programs meet MDH's minimum training standards, so graduates can sit for the Minnesota nurse aide competency exam immediately after finishing.
Pay for certified nursing assistants in Minnesota varies by location, with metro areas generally offering higher wages. The table below shows median annual and hourly wages for five of the state's largest metro areas. Strong demand persists statewide, especially in rural regions where high vacancy rates and turnover lead to competitive hiring bonuses and thousands of annual openings.
| Metro Area | Total Employment | Median Annual Wage | Median Hourly Wage |
|---|---|---|---|
| Minneapolis-St. Paul-Bloomington | 13,830 | $46,910 | $22.55 |
| Duluth | 1,540 | $43,050 | $20.70 |
| Rochester | 1,470 | $46,910 | $22.55 |
| St. Cloud | 1,440 | $39,090 | $18.79 |
| Mankato | 740 | $42,720 | $20.54 |
CNA students in Minnesota face a real decision: the broad range of programs clustered around the Twin Cities metro, or the more intimate learning environments offered by community colleges across Greater Minnesota. Both paths lead to the same state certification, but your daily commute, class schedule, and support network will look very different depending on where you enroll.
If you're considering CNA training in Minneapolis, St. Paul, or their surrounding suburbs, you'll find some of the state's most flexible CNA training options right in your backyard.
These metro programs often have higher enrollment capacity and multiple annual start dates, but classes can fill quickly.
Beyond the Twin Cities, Minnesota's community and technical colleges deliver high-quality CNA training that often comes with smaller class sizes and lower tuition.
While CNA classes in Rochester do not currently appear in our top-ranked list, prospective students in that area can use our school-matching tool to find nearby programs in Austin (Riverland Community College) or explore online/hybrid options from other Minnesota colleges. Use the ranked list above to compare locations, cost, and program length, then connect directly with the schools that fit your life.
To become a Certified Nursing Assistant in Minnesota, you must complete a state-approved training program and pass the competency examination.
Here are answers to common questions about launching your CNA career in Minnesota. We cover state prerequisites, background checks, competency exam policies, renewal rules, and paths to advance in nursing.
Minnesota requires you to be at least 16 years old.1 No high school diploma or GED is mandated by the state,1 but many training programs and clinical sites have their own admission requirements. Immunizations, including hepatitis B and a TB test, are often needed before starting clinical rotations.
A criminal background check is mandatory for all CNA candidates.1 The Minnesota Department of Human Services conducts the check after you complete training but before you take the competency exam. Certain criminal convictions may prevent you from obtaining certification or working in a nursing home.
Yes, you can retake the exam if you fail one or both parts. You are allowed up to three attempts within two years of completing your training program.2 After three unsuccessful attempts, state rules require you to retake a full state-approved training program before testing again.
Minnesota CNA certification must be renewed every 24 months through the Minnesota Nurse Aide Registry.2 To renew, you must prove you worked at least 8 hours in a nursing-related job during that period. If you don't meet this requirement, you may have to retake the competency exam to regain active status.
Absolutely. Many CNAs pursue further education to become Licensed Practical Nurses or Registered Nurses. Your hands-on patient care experience can strengthen program applications and sometimes fulfill prerequisites. Look for LPN certificate or ADN/BSN nursing programs at Minnesota community colleges and universities, and explore CNA Career Information for guidance.