Key Points
- CNA training in Newark costs between $1,000 and $2,500.
- Newark-area CNAs earn a median $47,810 annually.
- Over 1,800 CNA positions are currently open in New Jersey.
Compare accredited Newark CNA training programs, costs, schedules, and state requirements to launch your healthcare career in 2026.

New Jersey requires 90 hours of state-approved training (50 classroom, 40 clinical) before a candidate can sit for the nurse aide competency exam, and Newark sits at the center of one of the densest healthcare labor markets in the country. Hospitals like University Hospital, RWJBarnabas facilities, and dozens of long-term care sites across Essex County keep demand for certified aides steady year-round.
The practical tension for most applicants is timing versus cost: accelerated programs in Union or Jersey City can finish in 6 to 9 weeks for around $1,000 to $2,500, while community college cohorts fill months in advance. Seats are limited, and background checks and immunization records gate every admission. Jump straight to the program list below →
Hospital floors versus long-term care hallways: those are the two most common environments where Newark CNAs spend their shifts, and each offers a different rhythm of work. Hospitals tend to move fast, with a broader mix of patient conditions and shorter stays. Nursing homes and assisted living facilities emphasize continuity, relationships, and daily routines with residents you get to know over months or years. Understanding where you want to work helps you target the right employers and the right CNA Training experience.
Newark has a dense healthcare sector, and job openings appear across several channels. A few practical starting points:
Before you commit to a program, spend some time on the Bureau of Labor Statistics site (bls.gov) reviewing employment projections and wage ranges for nursing assistants in the Newark metro area. Pairing that data with a scan of current job postings gives you a realistic picture of how many openings exist, what employers are paying, and which shifts are hardest to fill.
The growing demand for flexible learning has pushed more CNA programs to adopt hybrid formats, though New Jersey CNA certification regulations ensure that hands-on patient care skills remain at the center of every credential.
New Jersey does not permit fully online CNA certification. State requirements mandate 90 total training hours, with 50 hours of classroom instruction and 40 hours of supervised clinical practice in a healthcare setting.1 These clinical hours must be completed in person, working directly with patients under the guidance of a licensed nurse. No amount of virtual simulation can substitute for this real-world experience when preparing to assist with activities of daily living, mobility, and vital signs.
Several programs in and around New Jersey offer hybrid formats that let students complete theory coursework online before attending in-person clinical rotations:
These hybrid options work well for Newark students who need to balance work, family, or other commitments while still meeting state certification standards.
Hybrid CNA training offers genuine advantages. You can study lecture material, anatomy basics, and infection control protocols on your own schedule, often from home. This flexibility reduces commuting time and allows you to pace your learning around other responsibilities.
However, hybrid formats require discipline. Without a fixed classroom schedule, some students find it harder to stay on track. You will also need reliable internet access and a quiet space to focus during online modules. Additionally, you must still arrange transportation to clinical sites, which may not always be close to Newark.
For students who thrive with self-directed study but want guaranteed hands-on experience, a hybrid CNA program can offer the best of both worlds.
Five New Jersey Department of Health approved CNA programs operate within a 25-mile radius of downtown Newark, giving prospective students multiple scheduling and location options to consider. Each meets state requirements, including the mandated combination of classroom instruction and supervised clinical practice.
Samuel Morris Career Institute of New Jersey offers a comprehensive CNA program at 701-703 McCarter Highway, Suite 201. This private career school provides 90 hours of combined classroom and clinical training, preparing students for the state competency exam. The program holds full NJDOH approval.
Academy of Training and Employment operates from 936 Broad Street, Suite 1, in downtown Newark. This NJDOH-approved facility serves students seeking healthcare career training and offers convenient access to public transportation.
Hudson County Community College in Jersey City delivers its nurse aide program from 70 Sip Avenue, approximately 15 minutes east of Newark. As a community college, HCCC often provides more affordable tuition rates and may offer financial aid options not available at private training schools. The program carries full NJDOH approval.
Healthcare Training Institute in Union, located at 1969 Morris Avenue, stands out for its flexible scheduling, offering both day and evening classes. This makes it a practical choice for students balancing work or family responsibilities. Union sits about 20 minutes southwest of Newark, and the program is NJDOH-approved.
Brookdale Community College in Lincroft operates a NJDOH-approved CNA program on its main campus. While the commute runs longer, roughly 45 minutes south of Newark, Brookdale's community college status may appeal to students seeking credit-bearing coursework or access to broader financial aid.
Enrolling in a program without state approval can waste your time and money: only graduates of NJDOH-approved training programs qualify to take the New Jersey Nurse Aide Competency Examination. Completing an unapproved program means starting over at an approved school before you can become certified. All five programs listed here meet state requirements, so your training counts toward certification.
As of 2026, New Jersey has over 1,800 open CNA positions, reflecting strong demand in the Newark area. Many training programs partner with employers who sponsor tuition for students who commit to working at their facilities after certification, making training more accessible.
CNA training in Newark represents a relatively affordable investment compared to most healthcare credentials, with total program costs typically ranging from $1,000 to $2,500 depending on the institution and what is included in the package.1
Most state-approved CNA programs in New Jersey follow a similar cost structure, though exact fees vary by provider. Based on available data from community-based programs in the region, you can expect costs to fall into several categories:
One community-based program in New Jersey illustrates this breakdown clearly: $1,472 for tuition, $361 for registration, $72 for textbooks, $154 for supplies, and $141 for the exam, bringing the total to approximately $2,200.2
Beyond program-specific fees, several expenses often catch students off guard:
When evaluating programs, look beyond the headline tuition figure. Some programs bundle textbooks, supplies, and exam fees into one price, while others list each item separately. A program advertising $1,000 tuition may actually cost $1,600 after required add-ons, while a $1,500 all-inclusive program could be the better value. Request itemized cost breakdowns from each school you consider, and confirm whether retake fees apply if you need additional attempts at the state competency exam.
Federal Pell Grants provide between $740 and $7,395 for the 2025-2026 academic year1, making them one of the most accessible funding sources for Newark students enrolled in Title IV-eligible CNA programs2. Because these grants are need-based2 and never require repayment, they represent an ideal starting point for anyone concerned about training costs.
To access federal aid, start by completing the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA). Beyond Pell Grants, you may qualify for Federal Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grants or low-interest federal student loans1. The key requirement is enrolling in a program that participates in Title IV federal aid, so verify this status before committing to any school.
New Jersey offers Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act (WIOA) funding through local career centers, covering tuition, books, fees, transportation, and even childcare for eligible participants2. Contact the Newark One-Stop Career Center to determine your eligibility and begin the application process. These grants can fully cover your training, eliminating out-of-pocket expenses entirely.
CNA state exam pass rates signal how well a training program prepares students for certification. In New Jersey, you must earn at least 75 percent on both the written (or oral) and clinical skills portions of the nurse aide competency exam to become certified.1 Programs with consistently strong pass rates typically offer thorough instruction, ample lab practice, and effective test preparation. Schools with lower rates may point to gaps in curriculum, limited hands-on training time, or insufficient instructor support.
Pass rates also matter to employers. Many long-term care facilities and hospitals in Newark prefer candidates who passed on their first attempt, viewing it as evidence of strong foundational skills. When comparing programs, ask admissions offices for their most recent first-time pass rates rather than cumulative or multi-attempt figures, which can obscure performance.
Specific pass-rate data for individual Newark training programs are not yet published in a centralized public database. New Jersey does not currently maintain a searchable directory of school-level exam outcomes. Some schools voluntarily report their statistics on websites or during campus tours, so ask each program directly for recent cohort results. Request pass rates from the past two years and inquire whether the numbers reflect all students or only those who completed the full course.
Job placement rates measure how many graduates secure employment within a defined period after certification, typically three to six months. High placement rates suggest that a program has strong ties to Newark-area employers, offers effective career services, or both. Many programs partner with local hospitals, nursing homes, and home health agencies to arrange clinical rotations that often lead to job offers.
Career assistance varies widely. Some schools provide resume workshops, interview coaching, and active job boards. Others simply hand you a certificate and wish you well. When touring programs, ask whether they host employer recruitment events, maintain alumni networks, or offer lifetime job-search support. Schools that track placement outcomes and share them openly demonstrate accountability and confidence in their training quality.
In the Newark-New York-Jersey City metro area, nursing assistants earn competitive wages that reflect the region's strong healthcare demand. According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, the median annual wage for CNAs in this area is $47,810, with top earners making over $52,980. Factors like years of experience, shift differentials for evenings or weekends, and specialization in areas such as geriatrics or rehabilitation can push pay higher.
| Metro Area | Employment | Mean Annual Wage | 25th Percentile | Median Annual Wage | 75th Percentile |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| New York-Newark-Jersey City, NY-NJ | 77,360 | $49,100 | $45,570 | $47,810 | $52,980 |
| Trenton-Princeton, NJ | 1,520 | $44,020 | $41,200 | $45,400 | $46,540 |
| Atlantic City-Hammonton, NJ | 1,470 | $40,550 | $37,600 | $39,480 | $42,430 |
| Vineland, NJ | 820 | $44,900 | $38,870 | $45,640 | $48,010 |
Becoming a Certified Nursing Assistant in New Jersey means completing a fixed set of state requirements before you can work in a nursing home, hospital, or home care setting. The New Jersey Department of Health oversees the process, and every step has to be finished in order.
New Jersey requires 90 total hours of training: 50 hours of classroom instruction and 40 hours of supervised clinical practice in a New Jersey-licensed long-term care facility. You must enroll in a program approved by the Department of Health for those hours to count.
After training, you have 24 months to pass the state competency exam. It has two parts:
All applicants must submit to a fingerprint-based Criminal History Record Information (CHRI) check. Convictions involving abuse, neglect, patient exploitation, theft from a patient, or serious drug or violent felonies are disqualifying.
Once you pass the exam and clear the background check, your name goes on the New Jersey Nurse Aide Registry, maintained by PSI Services LLC. Certification is valid for two years. To renew, you need at least 7 hours of paid nurse aide work within the prior 24 months, 12 hours of in-service education per year, a $30 renewal fee, and a repeat background check.
Rolling open enrollment or fixed-cohort start dates: those are the two application patterns you'll encounter across Newark CNA programs. Trade schools like New Age Training's CNA course and Hudson Technical Institute's CNA training run open enrollment with frequent start dates, while community colleges such as Hudson County Community College's Nurse Aide program group students into scheduled semesters. Knowing which pattern a school uses tells you how quickly you can begin.
Most Newark programs ask for a high school diploma or GED, though some (like New Age Training) also accept a TABE placement score. Minimum age is typically 16 to 18, depending on the school. Basic English proficiency is expected because clinical documentation and the state exam are both administered in English.
Before you set foot in a clinical rotation, expect to complete:
If you're aiming to start this year, contact your target school two to four weeks before your preferred start date. That buffer covers paperwork, health clearances, and any tuition deposit.
Below are the top CNA programs serving Newark students, ranked by IPEDS completion data, accreditation status, and program fit. Use the program bullets to compare length, cost, clinical requirements, and classroom format. Schools listed are either located directly in Newark or within commuting distance in New Jersey.
Union, NJ · ~$11,000/yr (est.)
Best for: Working adults needing flexible morning or evening classes
Healthcare Training Institute offers a compact, state-approved CNA path in Union with 90 total hours and both morning and evening sessions. The program emphasizes hands-on clinical training in long-term care settings and includes communication and infection control modules. Enrollment is limited and first-come, first-served, so early application matters. Program-level pass rates are not publicly reported.
Jersey City, NJ · $5,000 – $9,000/yr (est.)
Best for: Career changers targeting Jersey City healthcare jobs
Hudson County Community College runs its Enhanced Certified Nurse Aide training through workforce development, making it a practical option for students aiming at Newark and Jersey City employers. The curriculum adds Basic Life Support and Dementia Care certifications on top of standard CNA preparation. Applicants need to clear TABE proficiency, background checks, and medical documentation. Program-level pass rates are not reported.
Randolph, NJ · ~$9,000/yr (est.)
Best for: Students preferring a six-to-nine-week timeline
County College of Morris offers a short CNA sequence that can be completed in six to nine weeks, combining 50 lecture hours with 40 clinical hours. Training takes place in campus nursing labs or care facilities and includes BLS certification. Admission requires a criminal background check and drug screening, and registration can take up to six weeks. Pass rates are not published at the program level.
West Windsor, NJ · ~$5,000/yr (est.)
Mercer County Community College's Direct Health Care Provider Program wraps a 90-hour CNA course into a 15-week non-credit pathway, with optional add-ons for home health aide and medication aide credentials. The state-approved curriculum is campus-based and suited to students who want a broader direct-care skill set. Applicants need a high school diploma, English proficiency, immunizations, background check, and personal health insurance. Program-level pass rates are not publicly available.
Lincroft, NJ · $10,000 – $15,000/yr (est.)
Brookdale Community College's CNA in Long Term Care is approved by the New Jersey Department of Health and keeps class sizes to 10 students. The 90-hour program ends with clinical shifts in Monmouth County nursing homes, blending physical care skills with client rights and ethics. Payment plans are available, and mandatory attendance keeps the schedule intensive. Program-level pass rates are not separately published.
Sewell, NJ · $10,000 – $15,000/yr (est.)
Rowan College of South Jersey's Gloucester campus offers a state-approved nursing assistant program with 50 classroom hours and 40 clinical hours. Training covers vital signs, infection control, transfers, and restorative care in hands-on settings. Applicants need a high school diploma or HSE, a criminal background check, and immunization records. Program-level pass rates are not publicly reported.
Below are answers to the most common questions about CNA training in Newark. From program length and cost to certification requirements, this guide points you to the resources you need to get started.
Most Newark-area programs last 4 to 12 weeks, depending on whether you attend full-time or part-time. The New Jersey Board of Nursing sets the minimum training hours for CNA classes in New Jersey, but many schools exceed these to better prepare you for the state exam.
Typical requirements include being at least 16 or 18 years old, having a high school diploma or GED, passing a background check, and providing proof of immunizations. Check with individual programs, as admissions criteria can vary.
Tuition varies from a few hundred to over a thousand dollars. Free or low-cost training may be available through community colleges, the American Red Cross, or employers who sponsor students in exchange for a work commitment. Contact programs directly for current fees and financial aid options.
Some programs allow you to complete theory coursework online, but New Jersey regulations require that all clinical hours be done in-person at a healthcare facility. Look for hybrid programs that combine online learning with the mandatory hands-on clinical training; CNA ONLINE RESOURCES can help you find these programs.
The New Jersey Board of Nursing website maintains the official list of approved CNA programs and the most current training requirements. Always verify a program’s approval status there before enrolling to ensure it meets state standards.
The U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS.gov) offers annual updates on job growth and median wages for nursing assistants in the Newark area. Local demand remains strong, with many hospitals and long-term care facilities regularly hiring CNAs for direct patient care roles.