Key Points
- Montana's CNA workforce is projected to grow 2.3% this year.
- Butte offers four primary state-approved CNA training providers in 2026.
- Many Butte programs feature hybrid online learning with in-person clinicals.
Compare Butte CNA programs: tuition, schedules, and certification requirements in one place.

Montana's CNA workforce is projected to expand by 2.3% in 2026, yet Butte-area nursing homes and hospitals already report significant staffing gaps. A four-to-six-week training commitment, costing $650 to $1,200 at providers like Highlands College or Prosperity Training Center, can get you certified and hired locally while demand outstrips supply. Jump straight to our ranked program list.
Butte's healthcare sector offers CNAs stable employment across hospitals, nursing homes, assisted living communities, and home health agencies, with several facilities maintaining year-round hiring pipelines for entry-level nursing assistants.
The largest healthcare facilities in the Butte area typically employ multiple CNAs per shift and post openings regularly on their career pages. Hospitals and regional medical centers often hire CNAs for emergency departments, medical-surgical floors, and long-term acute care units. Nursing homes and skilled nursing facilities represent another major employment channel, with many facilities staffing CNAs across all three daily shifts. Assisted living communities and residential care facilities also hire nursing assistants, though job titles and responsibilities may vary slightly from traditional CNA roles.
Start your employer search by visiting the Bureau of Labor Statistics website (BLS.gov) and filtering for Butte or the broader Montana region to review healthcare employment trends and projections. The Montana Department of Labor & Industry maintains current labor market data and can provide contact information for local healthcare employers, which can help you learn how to get a CNA job. Search online job boards such as Indeed and LinkedIn using location filters for Butte, MT, and the keyword "CNA" to identify which facilities post openings most frequently. Many nursing homes and hospitals list job postings directly on their websites under careers or employment sections.
Some Butte-area healthcare facilities offer tuition reimbursement programs or paid training arrangements for prospective CNAs, which complement the CNA programs in Montana. These programs typically require a work commitment of six months to two years after certification. Contact human resources departments at local nursing homes and hospitals directly to ask about any current training partnerships or tuition assistance. The Montana Health Care Association (mtha.org) and Montana Nursing Home Association maintain directories of member facilities and may have information about training partnerships or apprenticeship programs available in the Butte region.
Here are answers to the most common questions about becoming a CNA in Butte, Montana. From certification steps to program costs and schedules, we have you covered.
Complete a state-approved CNA training program, pass the Montana CNA competency exam (written and skills), and apply for certification through the DPHHS BOUNDS portal. You'll need a clean background check and up-to-date immunizations. Once certified, you can be listed on the Montana Nurse Aide Registry and start working.
Program costs vary, but typically range from $600 to $1,500 depending on the provider. For the most current pricing, check directly with state-approved programs like Highlands College or Prosperity Training Center. Some employers may offer tuition reimbursement.
Typically, CNA training in Butte can be completed in 4 to 12 weeks, depending on whether you choose a full-time accelerated track or a part-time schedule. Most programs include both classroom instruction and clinical hours as required by Montana regulations.
Due to the hands-on nature of clinical skills, fully online CNA classes are not available. However, some programs in the Butte area may offer hybrid formats where the theory portion is online, but in-person attendance is required for labs and clinicals. Check with local providers for their current delivery options.
You must complete a state-approved nursing assistant training program of at least 75 hours (including clinicals), pass the competency evaluation exam, and submit an application to the Montana DPHHS CNA Registry via the BOUNDS online portal. A criminal background check and proof of immunization are also needed.
Many CNA training providers in Butte understand students may be working adults, so some do offer evening or weekend class schedules. For instance, Prosperity Training Center and Highlands College have historically offered flexible options. It's best to contact them directly for their current schedules.
Pass rates are not publicly reported at the state level for all providers. However, top-rated programs in the Butte area, like those at Highlands College, typically have high success rates. You can request this information directly from the program before enrolling.
Yes, once you are certified and listed on the Montana Nurse Aide Registry, you can use our guide on how to get a CNA job to start your job search. Butte's healthcare facilities frequently hire CNAs, and completing your training from a reputable local program can give you an edge in the job market.
Balancing work and family responsibilities with the demands of CNA training can feel overwhelming, but Butte-area programs are adapting with hybrid and flexible scheduling options that make certification more achievable than you might think.
Montana regulations make one thing clear: you cannot earn your CNA certification entirely online. Hands-on clinical experience is mandatory because you will be performing real patient care tasks like transfers, feeding, and vital signs. The online portion is limited to theory: learning about anatomy, infection control, and resident rights through modules or videos. This hybrid model lets you absorb the classroom content on your own time, then apply it during in-person skills labs and clinical rotations.
In Butte, you have multiple approved programs that blend online learning with in-person training: - Highlands College of Montana Tech: Offers a hybrid format with online theory modules, a two-day weekend skills lab, and a 25-hour clinical practicum at a local facility. - Prosperity Training Center: Runs a 5-week hybrid program that includes evening, weekend, and daytime class options to fit your schedule, plus a 32-hour clinical requirement. - Montana Tech CNA Certificate: Another hybrid option in Butte, requiring 25 clinical hours after the online coursework.
Prosperity Training Center stands out for its scheduling flexibility. They explicitly offer evening, weekend, and day classes, which is ideal if you are juggling a job or family. Highlands College’s weekend skills lab also helps minimize weekday time away from work. Always confirm current schedules directly with the program, as offerings can change.
If you are willing to travel a bit, other Montana programs with hybrid models include: - Montana Health Network (Miles City): A 4-week self-paced online course via Canvas, plus 16 hours of supervised skills practice and 16 hours of clinical.5 - UM Bitterroot College (Hamilton): Online didactic modules plus two six-hour in-person skills labs and clinical rotations.6 - Great Falls College MSU: Offers both in-person and hybrid delivery.7 These can be alternatives if Butte cohort dates don't align with your timeline.
Students who live outside Butte city limits or prefer a shorter commute may find training closer to home at several state-approved CNA programs in surrounding communities. Montana requires all CNA programs to include at least 75 classroom hours and 25 clinical hours, meeting the 100-hour minimum for certification eligibility. The two verified programs below sit within an hour's drive and offer an alternative to Butte-based options.
Located about 25 to 30 miles northwest of Butte, Deer Lodge Care & Rehabilitation Center operates a state-approved Nurse Aide Training Program.2 Training takes place at 1100 Texas Avenue in Deer Lodge, and prospective students can reach the facility by calling (406) 846-1655. Because nursing home-based programs often hire graduates directly, this option may appeal to anyone seeking a clear path from classroom to employment. Specific tuition figures and upcoming start dates were not publicly available at the time of research, so contacting the facility directly is the best way to confirm costs and enrollment windows.
About 50 to 55 miles west of Butte, Granite County Memorial Hospital in Philipsburg also holds state approval for its CNA training.2 The hospital is located at 310 S Sansome Street, and staff can answer enrollment questions at (406) 859-3271. Hospital-based programs often provide exposure to a wider range of patient care scenarios than facility-only training, which can be valuable preparation for the state competency exam. As with the Deer Lodge program, tuition and schedule details were not confirmed through published sources, so reaching out to the hospital is recommended.
How much do CNAs actually earn in the Butte area, and is the local job market strong enough to support a new career?
The Bureau of Labor Statistics does not publish a separate wage report for the Butte-Silver Bow metropolitan area1, so Montana statewide figures serve as the closest reliable benchmark. As of the most recent data, nursing assistants across Montana earn a median hourly wage of roughly $18.90 to $19.00, translating to a median annual salary of about $39,300.2 That figure sits just below the national median of $39,530 per year3, meaning Butte-area CNAs can expect compensation that is competitive with the rest of the country, especially when factored against Montana’s lower cost of living.
Earnings climb with experience and specialization. Workers at the 75th percentile in Montana bring home approximately $46,220 annually2, while those at the 90th percentile reach around $53,330.2 Entry-level CNAs near the 10th percentile start at about $35,2402, so even the floor offers a livable wage for the region.
Because Butte's housing and daily expenses run well below big-city averages, your take-home pay stretches further here than it would for a CNA earning a similar wage in a higher-cost metro.
Montana’s CNA workforce numbers roughly 4,800 positions statewide2, with a projected growth rate of about 2.3%2, slightly above the national projection of 2%3 through 2034. In Butte specifically, demand stays consistently strong because the community relies on a network of long-term care facilities, assisted living centers, and the regional hospital system. An aging population in southwestern Montana reinforces that demand, and local employers frequently report open CNA positions throughout the year.
If you are weighing whether the investment in CNA training will pay off in this part of the state, the numbers point in your favor. Stable wages, steady projected growth, and a lower cost of living let your paycheck go further, making Butte a practical place to launch a CNA career.
Montana's certified nursing assistant workforce is projected to grow at a steady 2.3% rate in 2026, according to estimates from the Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis. That consistent demand means CNA graduates in Butte are entering a job market with real staying power, not just a temporary spike.
Getting your Montana CNA certification involves three concrete steps: finishing an approved training program, passing the state competency exam, and registering with the Montana Nurse Aide Registry through the Department of Public Health and Human Services. The entire process typically takes eight to twelve weeks from enrollment to active registry listing.
Montana requires a minimum of 75 hours of combined classroom instruction and supervised clinical practice. Programs must be approved by DPHHS and cover essential skills including infection control, patient positioning, vital signs measurement, and communication techniques. Most Butte-area programs complete this requirement in four to six weeks of full-time attendance, though part-time schedules extend the timeline.
After finishing your training, you must pass both written and skills components administered by D&S Diversified Technologies (Headmaster). Current fees break down as follows:
You have three attempts within six months to pass each component.1 Montana also allows experienced healthcare workers to challenge the exam without completing formal training, provided they can document qualifying experience.
Once you pass both exam components, submit your application through the BOUNDS online portal maintained by DPHHS. Montana does not currently require a separate background check or fingerprinting as part of the initial certification process, which simplifies the application timeline.
Montana CNA certification renews online at no cost, provided you have worked at least eight hours in a nursing-related role during the certification period.1 If you hold active CNA certification from another state, Montana offers endorsement with no transfer fee, making relocation straightforward for CNAs moving to the Butte area.
Becoming a CNA in Montana follows a clear, state-mandated process designed to ensure you're prepared for the role. The pathway below outlines each step from training to certification, so you can plan your journey with confidence.

Choosing the right CNA program means balancing cost, schedule, and training style. Below we've compared the four primary providers in the Butte area using the most current 2026 data available. Note that some programs have not yet released full details, we've indicated where you should reach out directly for the latest updates.
| Program | Total Cost | Program Length | Format | Clinical Hours | Start Dates | Enrollment Deadline | Location |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Highlands College | $1,450 + $19.95 background check | 4 weeks (July 6–31, 2026 cohort) | Hybrid (online modules, 2-day in‑person skills lab) | 25 hours | July 6, 2026 | Not specified | Butte, MT |
| Prosperity Training Center | $1,200 | 75 hours (schedule not published) | In‑person | Not available | Not available | Not available | Butte, MT |
| Teamsters Local 2 | Contact program for details | Contact program for details | Contact program for details | Contact program for details | Contact program for details | Contact program for details | Butte, MT |
| CREST | Contact program for details | Contact program for details | Contact program for details | Contact program for details | Contact program for details | Contact program for details | Butte, MT |
Choosing the right CNA program in Butte sets the foundation for a rewarding healthcare career. Our ranking highlights the top programs in the area, focusing on factors like accreditation, flexibility, and career preparation to help you make an informed decision.
Butte, MT · $15,000/yr (net price)
Best for: Workforce-focused learners in southwest Montana
Highlands College of Montana Tech provides a workforce-focused Certified Nursing Assistant program designed for rapid entry into healthcare. The hybrid format combines online theory with a weekend skills lab and 25-hour clinical practicum, all for a community course fee of $1,450. State-approved by the Montana DPHHS, it prepares students for the Headmasters CNA exam and qualifies graduates to work in assisted living, long-term care, and acute care settings across Montana.
Butte, MT · ~$16,000/yr (est.)
Best for: Students seeking a university-connected CNA pathway
Montana Technological University offers its CNA certificate through the Highlands College division, blending university resources with practical workforce training. The hybrid program includes online coursework, hands-on skills labs, and 25 hours of clinical experience, all for $1,450. With multiple start dates annually, it serves students across the Butte region and prepares them for Montana certification and diverse healthcare roles.