CNA Classes & Training Programs in Odessa, Texas (2026 Guide)

Compare local CNA programs, understand certification requirements, and start your healthcare career in the Permian Basin.

Reviewed by Editorial staffUpdated August 14, 202625+ min read
CNA Classes & Training Programs in Odessa, Texas (2026 Guide)

Key Points

  • Nursing assistant jobs nationwide projected to grow 2% by 2034.
  • Employer-sponsored programs in Odessa can make CNA training free.
  • Odessa College offers a hybrid CNA course combining online and clinical work.

Odessa's healthcare sector added jobs steadily through 2025 even as oil-field employment fluctuated, and certified nursing assistants remain among the most in-demand entry-level positions in the Permian Basin. Becoming a CNA in Texas requires completing a state-approved training program of at least 75 hours, passing the competency exam, and earning your place on the Nurse Aide Registry.

Local options range from Odessa College's hybrid course to accelerated private programs and employer-sponsored training that can eliminate tuition entirely. Median CNA wages in the region run higher than the statewide average, partly because energy-sector competition pushes all local pay upward. Jump straight to the program list →

Odessa's Healthcare Landscape: Where CNAs Work in the Permian Basin

The Permian Basin's growing and aging population continues to shape a steady demand for certified nursing assistants across a variety of healthcare settings. Instead of hunting for a static list of named employers that may become outdated quickly, you can learn to map the Odessa healthcare landscape on your own using a few targeted research habits. This approach helps you spot both large institutional hiring patterns and smaller community-based opportunities that match your schedule and career goals.

Understanding the Local Employer Mix

In Odessa and the surrounding Permian Basin, CNAs commonly find roles in general medical and surgical hospitals, nursing care facilities, home health agencies, and assisted living communities. Many acute care hospitals recruit nurse aides for medical-surgical floors, intensive care units, and emergency departments. Long-term care and skilled nursing facilities often hire more CNAs per resident than hospitals do, making them a consistent source of openings. Home health and hospice agencies serve patients scattered across the region, which means driving distance and vehicle reliability become practical considerations when you apply. Keeping an eye on job boards for the cities of Odessa, Midland, and Andrews can reveal the mix of employer types actively hiring this month. If you're open to training in Midland, CNA classes in Midland could connect you with that city's healthcare employers.

How to Find Current CNA Job Listings

To build a current picture of who employs CNAs near you, start with online job platforms. Filter by "CNA" and location, then look at how many postings come from each facility type. Repeat your search on multiple sites to catch listings that do not appear everywhere. You can also visit the career pages of local healthcare organizations directly. Even if they are not advertising a CNA opening today, bookmarking those pages lets you check back or set up alerts. For a broader regional perspective, the Texas Workforce Commission's website provides labor market information, and national resources like the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS.gov) offer government-collected data on employment sectors and wage ranges for nursing assistants.

Rely on Authoritative Data and School Connections

Professional associations such as the Texas Health Care Association and LeadingAge Texas publish industry reports and member directories that can point you toward reputable employers. CNA Training programs in the area often maintain relationships with hiring managers and post job placement statistics on their official websites. Reaching out to a program's career services coordinator can connect you with facilities that have recently hired graduates. By cross-referencing what you learn from job boards, government data, school placement records, and professional networks, you get a reliable, up-to-date view of where CNAs are working right now in the Permian Basin without relying on a single static list.

Online and Hybrid CNA Courses Accessible From Odessa

A hybrid online CNA program is one where you complete the classroom theory portion online (readings, video lectures, quizzes, and sometimes virtual skills demonstrations) but still show up in person for the clinical portion at an approved healthcare facility. That in-person piece is not optional in Texas: the state requires 40 supervised clinical hours out of the 100 total training hours, and the Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) does not approve any fully online CNA program. If a website tells you that you can become a Texas CNA entirely from your laptop, that is a red flag.

Why Fully Online CNA Training Does Not Exist in Texas

CNA work is physical. You cannot learn to transfer a patient from bed to wheelchair, take vital signs, or provide perineal care through a webcam. HHSC and the Texas Nurse Aide Competency Exam both require documented, hands-on clinical experience in a long-term care setting supervised by a qualified instructor. Every legitimate CNA class in Texas, hybrid or not, ends with the same competency exam covering written knowledge and a skills demonstration.

Hybrid Options Odessa Students Can Actually Use

  • Odessa College Certified Nurse Aide Program: Runs as a hybrid, 8 weeks, roughly $1,900, with the 40 clinical hours completed locally in Odessa.1
  • Midland College Nurse Aide Hybrid Option: Delivered as a hybrid from Midland, an easy commute from Odessa for clinicals and any required on-campus lab days.2
  • Heart to Heart Healthcare Training Hybrid CNA: Part of the CNA classes in Lewisville offerings, this program is based in the Lewisville area and structured so students complete online theory first, then arrange the 40 clinical hours at an HHSC-approved NATCEP site. Odessa students should confirm in writing that a local clinical placement can be arranged before enrolling.3
  • Legacy Career Institute Nurse Aide Program: A hybrid option out of Carrollton in the Dallas-Fort Worth metro. Realistic only if you have family or lodging near the clinical site.4

Verifying Clinical Placement Before You Pay

Flexibility is the real selling point of hybrid training. You can work a full-time job, care for family, and knock out the theory hours on nights and weekends. But that flexibility disappears if the clinical site is four hours away. Before you enroll, ask the program three questions: Where exactly will my clinicals take place? Is that site currently accepting students for my start date? And is the program listed as an approved NATCEP on the HHSC registry? If any answer is vague, keep shopping.

CNA Classes Within Commuting Distance: Midland, Andrews, and Beyond

Choosing between programs in your hometown or those a short drive away can provide more scheduling options, lower tuition, or faster start dates. For prospective CNAs in Odessa, the Permian Basin offers several neighboring communities with state-approved training programs worth exploring.

Finding Approved Programs Near Odessa

The Texas Health and Human Services website maintains an official list of state-approved CNA training programs. This listing is the most reliable starting point for identifying legitimate options in Midland, Andrews, Monahans, and other communities within an hour's drive. Programs must meet specific state requirements for curriculum hours and clinical training, so checking this list helps you avoid unapproved courses that would not qualify you for the certification exam.

Beyond Odessa College, Midland College is another community college in the region that serves students seeking healthcare credentials. Contact their health sciences or continuing education department directly for current course schedules, enrollment periods, and tuition information. Community colleges often adjust their offerings semester to semester based on demand, so calling or visiting their website gives you the most accurate details.

Vocational Schools and Facility-Based Training

Several vocational schools and healthcare facilities throughout the Permian Basin offer CNA training. Some nursing homes and long-term care facilities provide training programs, sometimes with employment incentives for graduates who commit to working at the facility after certification. The Texas Health Care Association can direct you to member facilities with reputable training, or recommend programs their staff have found effective.

When evaluating programs outside Odessa, consider practical factors like commute time, gas costs, and whether the schedule aligns with your current work or family responsibilities. A program that runs on weekends or evenings might justify a longer drive if it allows you to keep your job during training.

Using National Resources for Career Planning

The Bureau of Labor Statistics at BLS.gov provides a comprehensive career overview for nursing assistants, including links to training resources and information about the Nurse Aide Registry. While the BLS data covers national trends, it helps you understand the profession's outlook and typical job duties before committing to a program.

Contact programs directly to ask about clinical placement sites, pass rates on the state competency exam, and any job placement assistance they offer. Gathering this information from multiple schools within commuting distance will help you make an informed decision that fits your timeline and budget.

CNA Salary and Job Market in Odessa (Permian Basin)

How much can you actually earn as a CNA in Odessa, and what does the local job market look like for new nurse aides?

The Permian Basin's economy is shaped by the energy industry, but healthcare remains one of the region's steadiest employers. Nursing facilities, hospitals, home health agencies, and rehabilitation centers in and around Odessa consistently need certified nursing assistants, and that demand can translate into competitive pay and hiring incentives.

Finding Reliable Salary Data

The most trustworthy source for CNA wage information in any metro area is the Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS.gov). Use the Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics tool and filter by the Odessa metropolitan area to see median, 10th-percentile, and 90th-percentile hourly and annual wages for nursing assistants (SOC code 31-1131). These figures are updated periodically and give you a solid baseline for what local employers are paying.

Keep in mind that posted BLS medians represent a midpoint. Entry-level CNAs typically start closer to the lower percentiles, while those with experience, specialty certifications, or willingness to work less popular shifts can earn above the median.

Checking Real-Time Job Postings

BLS data can lag by a year or more, so supplement it with a search on job boards like Indeed, LinkedIn, or Monster. Filter by "CNA" and "Odessa, TX" to see current openings, starting pay ranges, and any signing bonuses or relocation incentives employers are offering. In areas where healthcare staffing is tight, it is common to see:

  • Signing bonuses: One-time payments for new hires who commit to a minimum employment period.
  • Shift differentials: Higher hourly rates for evening, overnight, or weekend shifts.
  • Tuition reimbursement: Some employers cover the cost of CNA training or further education in exchange for a work commitment.

Employer-Specific Incentives

Not all incentives show up on job boards. Contact the Texas Health Care Association (THCA) or speak directly with administrators at local nursing homes, assisted living communities, and home health agencies to ask about shift differentials and benefit packages. Many facilities in the Permian Basin compete for the same pool of healthcare workers, so pay and perks can vary quite a bit from one employer to the next.

Graduate Placement and Starting Pay

Another useful resource is the career services or program pages of area training providers. Schools that offer CNA programs sometimes publish graduate placement reports that list starting salaries, employment rates, and the names of top local employers who regularly hire their graduates. Checking these reports gives you a realistic picture of where recent completers are landing and what they are earning in their first positions.

Taking 30 minutes to cross-reference BLS statistics, live job postings, and school placement data will give you a well-rounded understanding of CNA earning potential in Odessa before you even start your training.

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, the nursing assistant field is projected to grow 2% nationally from 2024 to 2034, adding thousands of new positions driven largely by an aging population with growing care needs. In Texas, demand is expected to outpace many other states, making Odessa a solid place to launch a stable, in-demand healthcare career.

Texas CNA Certification Step by Step

State-approved training programs follow one track, while the certification exam offers two formats: written or oral. Both lead to the same credential: Certified Nurse Aide (CNA), issued by the Texas Health and Human Services Commission and recorded on the Texas Nurse Aide Registry. Understanding each step helps you plan your timeline and budget effectively.

Complete a State-Approved Training Program

Texas requires 100 total hours of instruction: 60 hours of classroom theory and 40 hours of hands-on clinical experience in a licensed healthcare facility. Every program on this page meets that standard. During training, you will master skills like vital sign measurement, patient transfers, hygiene assistance, and infection control. Most programs also require a criminal background check, immunization records (including hepatitis B and MMR), and a negative tuberculosis test before you enter the clinical setting. Expect to submit fingerprints for the background screening, which typically costs between 40 and 50 dollars. Students must be at least 16 years old to enroll.

Pass the Prometric CNA Competency Exam

After graduation, your training program submits eligibility paperwork to Prometric, the state's testing vendor. You will then receive instructions to schedule both parts of the exam through the TULIP Online Portal. The knowledge test includes 70 multiple-choice questions: 60 scored items and 10 unscored reading-comprehension questions. You have two hours to complete the exam, which is offered in written or oral format. The skills demonstration requires you to perform three to five randomly selected tasks in front of a nurse evaluator, replicating the techniques you practiced during clinical rotations.

Prometric charges a combined exam fee of 125 dollars. If you do not pass one or both sections on the first attempt, Texas allows up to three retakes per section within a 24-month window from your training completion date. After three unsuccessful attempts or if the window expires, you must repeat the entire training program.

Get Listed on the Texas Nurse Aide Registry

Once you pass both exam components, Prometric forwards your results to the Texas Health and Human Services Commission, which adds your name to the official Nurse Aide Registry within seven to ten business days. Employers verify your active status on this registry before extending job offers. Your certification remains valid for 24 months. To renew, you must work at least eight hours as a paid nurse aide during each renewal period and pay a 25-dollar renewal fee. If your certification lapses, you will need to retest before returning to work.

Side-by-Side: Odessa CNA Program Details (Odessa College, Xcellerated, Facility-Based)

When comparing CNA programs in Odessa, you'll find options ranging from community college courses to accelerated private training and even employer-sponsored programs. Below, we break down the key details for three proven paths: Odessa College's hybrid program, Xcellerated Nurse Aide Training's fast-track course, and facility-based training often offered by local nursing homes. Each option suits different budgets, timelines, and career goals. Note that facility-based training details are subject to change; always verify directly with the provider.

Program NameCostLengthScheduleClinical SiteExam Pass RateJob Placement SupportKey Highlight
Odessa College CNA Program$1,900 (includes exam fee)8 weeksHybrid (online and in-person); may offer day/evening optionsLocal healthcare facilities (40 clinical hours required)Not publicly reportedNot specified; career services available to studentsAffordable hybrid program with exam fee included and 40 hours of clinical experience
Xcellerated Nurse Aide Training$850 tuition + $125 exam fee ($975 total)2 weeks (accelerated)In-person, intensive; likely full-time daysIncluded in program (details not specified)Not publicly reportedNot mentionedFastest track to certification in just 2 weeks; intensive format
Facility-Based Training (e.g., local nursing homes like Parks Senior Living)Often free with a commitment to work for the facility after certificationVaries; typically 4–6 weeks depending on the employerFull-time, on-the-job training; schedules varyOn-site at the sponsoring facilityNot publicly reportedGuaranteed employment upon completion (contingent on passing the exam)Earn while you learn, no upfront tuition cost; work commitment required

CNA Program Prerequisites and Enrollment Checklist

Before enrolling in a CNA program in Odessa, you'll need to gather a few important documents and meet specific requirements. Here's a checklist to help you prepare.

  1. Age and Education
    Most programs require you to be at least 18 years old and hold a high school diploma or GED. Xcellerated Nurse Aide Training enforces the diploma requirement, while Midland College does not.
  2. Pre-Registration and Application
    For Odessa College, you must pre-register through the COMPLIO system and pay a $97 application fee. No placement test or prerequisite courses are required.
  3. Background Check and Drug Screen
    A criminal background check is mandatory for clinical rotations. Most providers also require a drug screen; check with your specific program.
  4. Immunizations and Health Clearances
    Proof of immunizations, including TB, Hepatitis B, and a seasonal flu shot, is standard. Midland College explicitly requires these.
  5. CPR Certification
    Many programs, like Midland College, require current BLS CPR certification for healthcare providers before you start clinical hours.
  6. Proof of Citizenship or Residency
    Private programs such as Xcellerated Nurse Aide Training require a valid driver's license, Social Security number, and proof of U.S. citizenship or legal residency.

Questions to Ask Yourself

CNAs spend most of their shifts bathing, feeding, repositioning, and monitoring patients. If direct, personal contact with people in need energizes you rather than drains you, this career aligns well with your strengths.

Expect to lift and transfer patients, stand for long stretches, and move quickly between rooms. Building stamina and learning proper body mechanics early will help you avoid injury on the job.

Hospitals and nursing facilities in the Permian Basin operate around the clock. Many entry-level positions require rotating shifts, so flexibility with your schedule is essential before you commit to training.

You will support patients through pain, decline, and end-of-life moments. Having healthy coping strategies and a reliable support network makes a real difference in sustaining a long, fulfilling CNA career.

Free CNA Training and Employer-Sponsored Programs in Odessa

Paying out of pocket for CNA training is not your only option. Several pathways in the Odessa area can reduce or eliminate tuition costs entirely, letting you earn your certification without taking on debt.

Employer-Sponsored CNA Training

Many nursing homes and long-term care facilities in the Permian Basin offer free or subsidized CNA training to candidates who agree to work at the facility for a set period after certification. Under federal regulations, Medicare- and Medicaid-certified nursing homes are required to cover training costs for nurse aides they employ,3 which means facilities such as skilled nursing and rehabilitation centers in the Odessa area may periodically recruit training cohorts. The typical arrangement works like this:

  • Tuition coverage: The employer pays for your classroom instruction, skills lab, and clinical hours.
  • Work commitment: In return, you agree to work full-time (or a set number of hours) at the facility for a defined period, often six months to one year.
  • Wages during training: Some programs pay a training wage while you complete your coursework, though this varies by employer.

Contact local facilities directly to ask whether they are currently enrolling sponsored CNA students. Openings tend to appear when staffing needs are high, so checking in regularly is worthwhile.

Workforce Solutions Permian Basin

Workforce Solutions Permian Basin, the regional workforce development board, administers training grants that can cover tuition for qualifying programs, including CNA courses. Eligibility is generally based on income, employment status, or other criteria tied to state and federal workforce funding. Xcellerated Nurse Aide Training in Odessa, for example, encourages prospective students to apply through Workforce Solutions Permian Basin for financial assistance.2 If approved, the grant may cover your full program cost, and you would not owe tuition out of pocket.

You can visit a Workforce Solutions office in Odessa or Midland to start the application process. Be prepared to provide proof of residency, income documentation, and identification.

Odessa College Financial Aid and Scholarships

Odessa College's CNA program is classified as a continuing education course. Traditional federal financial aid such as Pell Grants typically does not apply to non-credit continuing education programs, but the college may offer institutional scholarships or payment plans to help offset costs. Community organizations and healthcare-focused foundations in the Permian Basin sometimes provide small scholarships for students entering allied health fields as well. Reaching out to the Odessa College continuing education office at 432-335-6580 or [email protected] is the fastest way to learn what funding options are currently available.1

Tips for Finding Free Training

  • Check job boards and facility websites for postings that mention "paid CNA training" or "earn while you learn."
  • Ask local hospitals, rehabilitation centers, and home health agencies whether they sponsor certification programs.
  • Apply to Workforce Solutions Permian Basin before enrolling in a program so you know your funding status upfront.
  • Visit cnaclasses.org to compare CNA programs and identify which Odessa-area options align with your budget.

With a combination of employer sponsorship, workforce grants, and institutional aid, many Odessa students complete their CNA training at little to no personal cost.

Top CNA Programs for Odessa Students

Below are the top CNA programs serving Odessa students, ranked by local access, affordability, and flexibility. Local in-city training and hybrid scheduling are strong starting points for Permian Basin learners. The options that follow include Texas-approved programs with campus, hybrid, and continuing education formats for students who can attend in person or complete online theory components elsewhere.

Odessa College

#1

Odessa, TX · $3,000 – $5,000/yr (est.)

Hispanic-Serving Institution

Best for: Local Permian Basin students needing hybrid

Odessa College is the primary public CNA provider located in Odessa, with campus and hybrid formats built around the Permian Basin workforce. The program blends classroom hours with supervised clinicals and simulation labs, and the total tuition covers materials plus the state exam fee. Small class sizes and local clinical partnerships make it the most direct choice for Odessa-area students.

  • 16-week program with 60 classroom hours and 40 clinical hours
  • Tuition is $1,900 and covers textbooks, scrubs, supplies, and the Texas Nurse Aide exam fee
  • Morning classes run Monday through Thursday with weekend clinical labs
  • NHA accredited and requires Complio account, background check, and drug screen
  • Small class size of 8-10 students
  • 8-week accelerated hybrid format with online and campus components
  • Same $1,900 tuition includes state exam fee, textbooks, and scrubs
  • 60 classroom hours plus 40 clinical hours, with weekend clinicals
  • Requires Complio account, background check, and drug screening
  • Payment plans and tuition assistance options available
  • 8-week accelerated campus format in Odessa
  • Tuition is $1,900 and includes all materials and the state exam fee
  • 60 classroom hours and 40 clinical hours, with weekend rotations
  • NHA accredited with small class sizes of 8-10 students
  • Requires Complio account, background check, and drug screen

Wharton County Junior College

#2

Wharton, TX · $5,000/yr (est. net price)

Hispanic-Serving Institution

Wharton County Junior College offers a lower-cost, campus-based nurse aide program with a focused 66-hour lecture and 40-hour clinical sequence. The total cost of $995 including textbooks keeps it accessible for budget-conscious students, though Odessa learners may need to travel for in-person training. The curriculum emphasizes direct patient care, infection control, and safety skills needed for the Texas state exam.

  • 66 lecture hours and 40 clinical hours
  • Total cost is $995 including textbooks
  • Covers direct patient care, infection control, and safety procedures
  • Prepares students for the Texas state exam, which costs about $125
  • Students must purchase scrubs, non-skid shoes, a watch with a second hand, and a stethoscope

Texas Southmost College

#3

Brownsville, TX · $3,000/yr (est. net price)

Hispanic-Serving Institution

Texas Southmost College provides two nurse assistant pathways: a one-semester credit certificate and a six-week non-credit training option. Both combine classroom instruction with clinical experience, though the non-credit track moves faster and requires additional compliance steps. Odessa students should note that both are campus-based in Brownsville and require travel or relocation.

  • One-semester certificate program through TSC's Health Professions division
  • Classroom lessons pair with clinical training in real care settings
  • Covers basic nursing skills, medical terminology, and basic anatomy and physiology
  • Prepares graduates for entry-level nursing assistant roles in long-term care, hospitals, and other facilities
  • Six-week program with 112 total course hours
  • Non-credit industry credential pathway
  • Must be 18 or older with valid Texas ID and Social Security card
  • Includes classroom and clinical training with mandatory immunizations and background check
  • Prepares students for state exam eligibility

McLennan Community College

#4

Waco, TX · $4,000 – $6,000/yr (est.)

Hispanic-Serving Institution

McLennan Community College offers a 100-hour nurse aide course with day and evening sections, giving learners scheduling flexibility. Tuition includes the state exam fee, and scholarships can reduce out-of-pocket costs. While campus-based in Waco, the training covers the full range of skills needed for long-term care, hospitals, clinics, and home health settings.

  • 100-hour course with day and evening sections
  • Tuition covers the state exam fee
  • Scholarships are available
  • Covers health care systems, legal and ethical issues, safety, infection control, and first aid
  • Prepares for written and skills portions of the Texas state exam

College of the Mainland

#5

Texas City, TX · ~$1,000/yr (est.)

Hispanic-Serving Institution

College of the Mainland offers a fast-track nurse aide certificate that can be completed in about two to three months. The program blends classroom learning with clinical experience in real care settings, with a focus on safety, communication, and critical thinking. Odessa students should expect to travel or relocate for the in-person training and clinical placements.

  • Complete in approximately two to three months
  • Campus-based with face-to-face instruction and clinicals
  • Requires high school diploma or equivalent, background check, and health insurance
  • Clinical sites require immunizations and drug screens
  • Prepares students for the Texas state exam and roles in nursing homes, hospices, and hospitals

Northeast Texas Community College

#6

Mount Pleasant, TX · ~$7,000/yr (est.)

Hispanic-Serving Institution

Northeast Texas Community College offers a six-week nurse aide program with weekday evening classes, making it easier for working students to attend. The $750 cost is relatively low, and financial aid may be available. The program includes classroom and clinical components, but Odessa learners would need to travel to Mount Pleasant for in-person training.

  • Six-week program with Monday through Thursday evening classes
  • Program cost is $750
  • Must be 18 or older with proof of education and immunization records
  • Requires CPR certification
  • Includes classroom and clinical experience, preparing for state certification

Dallas College

#7

Dallas, TX · $3,000/yr (est. net price)

Hispanic-Serving Institution

Dallas College provides a two-month nurse aide workforce certificate with multiple campus options in the Dallas area. Tuition for Dallas County residents is around $1,500, and the program is designed with local employers for fast entry into high-demand nursing roles. Odessa students would need to relocate or commute, and admission requires a separate application with background check and drug testing.

ACEN accredited
  • Two-month workforce certificate program
  • Approximately $1,500 tuition for Dallas County residents
  • Campus-based at multiple locations, including Brookhaven and El Centro
  • No college credit awarded; designed with local employers for quick entry
  • Requires separate nursing program application, criminal background check, and drug testing
  • ACEN accredited

Amarillo College

#8

Amarillo, TX · ~$5,000/yr (est.)

Hispanic-Serving Institution

Amarillo College offers an eight-week nurse aide certificate with flexible morning, afternoon, and evening sections at its West Campus. The program combines classroom and clinical training, and financial aid is available for eligible students. For Odessa-area learners, Amarillo is in West Texas, though campus attendance still requires travel, and a separate continuing education CNA option is also available.

  • 8-week program with morning, afternoon, or evening classes
  • Tuition and fees are about $1,100; total estimated cost $1,524.50
  • Financial aid available
  • West Campus location with hands-on clinical experience
  • Prepares for state certification and can be a stepping stone to other healthcare roles
  • Continuing Education offering with course IDs NURA-1001 and NURA-1060
  • Course cost is $550 each
  • Morning and evening schedules available
  • In-person registration required at West Campus
  • Hands-on clinical experience with optional skills review courses

El Paso Community College

#9

El Paso, TX · ~$3,000/yr (est.)

Hispanic-Serving Institution

El Paso Community College offers a six-week, 210-hour nursing assistant program with on-campus instruction and clinical experience. The program requires current BLS and First Aid certifications along with health and background clearances. Odessa students should note the in-person format in El Paso, which may require travel or relocation.

  • 210-hour course completed in six weeks
  • On-campus instruction with clinical experience
  • Minimum age 17 and requires BLS Provider and First Aid certifications
  • Proof of immunizations, negative TB test, background clearance, and drug screen required
  • Leads to eligibility for the Texas State Exam

Victoria College

#10

Victoria, TX · $3,000/yr (est. net price)

Hispanic-Serving Institution

Victoria College offers both a hybrid and a campus-based nurse aide pathway. The hybrid option pairs a free online theory course with in-person clinicals, while the campus track is a non-credit continuing education program. For Odessa learners, the clinical placements are concentrated in the Victoria and Gonzales regions, so travel or relocation is generally required.

  • Hybrid program with 60-hour online theory course provided free by Health and Human Services
  • 50-60 clinical hours completed on campus and in local healthcare agencies
  • Tuition is $650 and includes a textbook
  • Prepares students for the Texas Nurse Aide Registry Exam
  • Offered at Victoria Main Campus and Gonzales Center
  • Campus-based continuing education nurse aide program
  • Non-credit certificate of completion
  • Financial aid and scholarships available with FAFSA
  • On-site clinicals in Victoria and Gonzales areas
  • Requires pre-registration and may have minimum enrollment

Frequently Asked Questions: CNA Classes in Odessa, TX

Here are answers to the most common questions about becoming a Certified Nurse Aide in Odessa, Texas. Our information is based on 2026 program details and state regulations to help you plan your training.

  1. How much does CNA training cost in Odessa?

    In 2026, Xcellerated Nurse Aide Training costs about $850 (including a $100 application fee, plus a $125 state exam fee).1 Odessa College charges approximately $1,900, which covers the exam fee, textbooks, supplies, and scrubs.2 Costs vary; check with the school for the most current pricing.

  2. Are there any free CNA classes in Odessa, Texas?

    There are no entirely free standalone CNA programs in Odessa as of 2026. However, some long-term care facilities may offer employer-sponsored training to individuals who agree to work for them after certification. Check with local nursing homes or hospitals for possible tuition assistance or reimbursement opportunities.

  3. How long does it take to become a CNA in Odessa?

    The quickest path is Xcellerated Nurse Aide Training, which completes in 2-3 weeks with full-time study.1 Odessa College's program runs 8-16 weeks, depending on the schedule (accelerated hybrid available).2 Both programs meet Texas's 100-hour training requirement (60 classroom, 40 clinical).

  4. What are the requirements to get CNA certified in Texas?

    To earn CNA certification in Texas, you must meet the state's training requirements, including completing a state-approved 100-hour NATCEP program, passing the Texas Nurse Aide Competency Exam (written/oral and skills) administered by Prometric, and passing a criminal background check. You get three exam attempts. Once passed, you apply to the Texas Nurse Aide Registry.

  5. Can I take CNA classes online in Odessa?

    You cannot become a CNA entirely online because of mandatory in-person clinical hours. Odessa College offers a hybrid option that combines online coursework with on-campus labs and clinical rotations.2 Xcellerated's program is fully in-person.1 All programs require 40 hours of hands-on clinical training.

  6. Which CNA programs are available in Odessa?

    Prominent options include the accelerated 2-3 week program at Xcellerated Nurse Aide Training and the hybrid or in-person program at Odessa College, which takes 8-16 weeks. Additionally, facility-based training may be offered occasionally by local nursing homes or hospitals, so it's worth inquiring with employers directly.

Recent Articles